Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Peruvian Ceviche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Peruvian Ceviche

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2011

      Ceviche is one of my favorite dishes, and this is a great recipe. A couple of notes: Peruvian cuisine uses many different peppers. Aji amarillo (literally yellow pepper) is Peruvian and quite flavorful but does not provide a lot of heat. I don't think aji amarillo will spice up this dish, though. The acid in the lime will overpower it. Traditionally, Peruvian ceviche uses aji rocoto which is a very hot red pepper, also indigenous to Peru. It is closer in heat to the habanero pepper the recipe calls for, but I think it has more flavor as oppossed to pure heat. It is available as a paste in small jars. You should be able to find it online if you don't have a market near you carrying this. Be forewarned, I am a big fan of hot food, this is very potent stuff. Also, if you are going to order your aji rocoto, go ahead and order some cancha as well. It is a corn cornel that is lightly toasted (so as not to actually pop it) and salted, then served as an accompaniment to ceviche. Peru has many variety of corn that we do not have in The States, this is one. Boil a sweet potato (camote in Spanish) and serve your ceviche (prepared with aji rocoto) on a large lettuce leaf, with a couple slices of boiled sweet potato and some cancha on the side, and you will have a delicious quite healthy, traditional Peruvian meal. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      in northern Peru we add some finely grated fresh ginger , and we salt the onion let stand 5min then rinse . and we serve with cold slices of peeled sweet potatoe also

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      In Peru, this ceviche goes accompanied by fried calamari, a boiled sweet potato and corn on the cob(cut into 2 pieces). Then you would have a complete meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      This tasted exactly like the ceviche I've had at various peruvian restaurants

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      I am making this recipe for the second time. My husband and I just think it is one of the tastiest Ceviche dishes, even better than the restaurants we've visited. I use Tilapia and add shrimp that I have cooked ahead of time. I also buy lime juice instead of squeezing fresh ( no bitter taste). My peppers come from my garden that my hubby planted (mild). I also serve with sweet potato and cancha on the side. Love it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Not sure how authentic this is (never been to Peru), but I know it was fantastic. Very easy, a little bite, and a really attractive presentation. Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I'm sure it's tasty. But not exactly vegetarian, is it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      SOOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!! This is a GREAT recipe for simple and authentic Peruvian ceviche. I've tried making it in the past but didn't know you were supposed to put garlic in it. What a difference! I think that the amount of garlic and onions can be lessened if you don't like things too garlicky. You can also add a variety of other seafood to this dish (I've done shrimp, calamari, crab, and scallop). Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was a very tasty recipe; let my family try it - for most it was their first time having ceviche - and they enjoyed it immensely. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Thank you for this recipe. I went to a Peruvian restaurant the other week and had the ceviche there. I immediately came home and looked for a recipe to make it at home. This was the most authentic I found and absoultely delicious. I am going to try it with Aji Amarillo sauce this week. By the way...it is PERFECT for anyone on a diet. 117 calories per 1c serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Simply delicious and authentic. Very easy to make with fresh ingredients one can find anywhere. I always cover up my pyrex container to a) keep the fridge free of onion-smell and b) hide from roommate till it's ready. And I also let it cook overnight for even more flavor (mixing once or twice).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Thia was so nice light and fresh. Just what i was looking for on a hot summer day. For the fish i used halibut since I'm not crazy about tilapia. I was unable to find a habanero pepper so used a jalapeno instead. It definitely could have used the habanero in there, since it wasn't spicy enough for my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This is delicious! I actually use Aji Amarillo which is more authentic to Peru than the habanero. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This is a great recipe except I always thought ceviche had lemon or at least some. I made this recipe today exactly and it is not the same as I have eaten in Peru. Is lime juice correct? I did find other ceviche recipes with lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Made this dish for my friend's party with 1.5 lb Cod filet, I cut out the garlic(just to change it up a little) and addes a sprinkling of Lemon Pepper to add more color. Add baked potatoes(or microwave ones) sliced around the ceviche on a plate. The starchy potatoes will cut some of the intense flavor of the dish if you feel it is too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      This is my usual ceviche, and is one of the best I've had... however, I use some bay scallops instead of just fish, and key limes instead of regular Mexican limes, they aren't as bitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Excellent ceviche. If the lime flavor is to strong add a TBsp or two of white vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      My kids loved it, but my hubby & I felt like it there was too much of a lime flavor. The ingredients were easy to find, but the juicing of the Limes took a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      My hand and wrist were sore for days after making this from squeezing all of the limes but it was worth it (Hint: if your limes are not very ripe, pop them in the microwave for about 30 seconds then use the palm of your hand to roll them on the counter and get the juices flowing). The flavor of the habanero is much more complimentary to the lime and cilantro than jalapeno. I didn't think it was spicy enough, but some guests thought it was too spicy. I served it with crackers and habanero sauce. I found that it tasted much better after about five hours than the 2-3 suggested. This is by far the best ceviche recipe I have ever found, and I have eaten a LOT of ceviche. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Simple to make and vey tasty. Everyone LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Peruvian Ceviche

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.8
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    13%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 470.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites