Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    10 On-the-Go Breakfasts

    10 On-the-Go Breakfasts

    Drop the Granola Bar - You Can Do Better
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Perfect Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Perfect Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      PanNan, I simply can't believe that this recipe was posted in August of 2002 and hasn't been reviewed until now! How moist, tender and flavorful can one simple pot roast be?? So easy to prepare, slowly roasting in the oven over a period of hours to attain the perfect tender roast! I did everything as directed, eliminating the wine in the gravy, as personal perferences dictated. ;) We enjoyed this roast so very much and will obviously be enjoying it many more times to come! thank you PanNan, for posting this fabulous recipe for all of us to enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      What a wonderful aroma we had in the house this afternoon. The taste didn't disappoint at all. I did add the wine in to deglaze the pan before adding in the broth. It worked fine and tasted wonderful. I added in the carrots and potatoes 45 min. before it was done and they were great. The reduced broth is really what makes this recipe different than my usual pot roast. I will def. use this method again. Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Excellent! This is my first roast and it turned out great. I used balsamic vinegar instead of the wine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I have grown up with Sunday pot roast I wouldn't have believe I could make one better than Moms! But I did and she thought so too. I didn't use red wine. I did add carrots and whole red potatoes. They needed more time I will add them 30 min earlier next time. I also added a quartered onion. I pulled out the carrots and potatoes and then with a slotted spoon removed all the "yucky stuff" according to my kids. That means all the large vegetables. I then blender-ized them. I would have used an emulsion blender if I had one. The I added it back to the pan brought to a boil and simmered till reduced then added a couple spoon fulls of powered gravy to thicken it up. Not enough gravy!!! We were all licking it with our fingers, Best gravy ever!! This is now my official pot roast recipe! Thank you Derf

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I made this for dinner last night and it was excellent!I used a scant 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme as I didn't have any fresh on hand . Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. The roast was falling-apart tender and the rich brown sauce was delicious! I added cut up potatoes, carrot chunks and quartered onions for the last 45 minutes of cooking time. Then removed the veggies and roast and used my stick blender to emulsify the cooked smaller veggies and thickened the sauce with some Wondra flour to make a rich and flavorful gravy, DH is now happily enjoying some leftovers for lunch! This is definitely going into my "keeper" file. Thanks for posting this,PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      For anyone that has not made a pot roast, this recipe is perfect. It is straight-forward, accurate and simple instructions. The results are the perfect pot roast! The name is apropos! I do like to use parsnips and I eliminate the sugar. Rather than sugar, after I brown the meat, I deglaze with a quarter cup of dry vermouth or white wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      I've used this recipe for both beef and pork roasts since I found it a couple of months ago. We love it. I follow the recipe as is for the beef roast and for the Boston butt I add Old Bay to the salt and pepper and eliminate the wine. I make it from start to finish in my cast iron Dutch oven, turning only once. I roast for an hour per pound and it seems to work whether I'm using a 2 pound or 4 pound roast. The sauce is wonderful as both an Au Jus or thickened for a gravy. This is a top of the line, A-one pot roast. Thanks for posting Pan Nan and it was my loss it took me so long to find. I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      My husband said this is the best pot roast he has ever had, and I agree. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Entirely wonderful. I added carrots, celery, potatoes and onions an hour before done. And didn't do the 'remove meat and make sauce.' The au jus was terrific "as is."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I cooked it in the pressure cooker on high for one hour. Came out perfect and saved 2 hours (I omitted the extra water in the recipe). After the meat was finished, I removed it and cooked new potatoes and baby carrots on high pressure for 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

    • on October 11, 2009

      My family loved this! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This recipe brings back memories of walking into my Grandma's house and smelling dinner in the oven. We couldn't wait to eat then, and I could barely wait to eat this today! It smelled so good while cooking. I made no changes in the recipe but next time I will probably reduce the gravy more or lightly thicken it with a flour and water slurry. This pot roast will be my "go-to" recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Loved this Roast! Because the kids were coming over during the week for dinner I chose to make this recipe the night before. With me over cooking this ours came out more like a stew but the flavor was there. We all loved this recipe and there was no left overs. Looking forward to making this recipe again. 10 Stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Just excellent!!! Our pot roast turned out great. What fantastic flavor! We loved the gravy as much as the roast. Thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Oh my!! the gravy in this recipe is outstanding!! The meat we found to be a little overdone/dry but it didn't matter with the sauce over it, just delicious!! I almost forgot to say i added half a dozen whole mushrooms, YUM! Served over baby red potatoes. I will be making this again but may cook it a shorter time. thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This is a great recipe. The roast was succulent and tender, and the broth it made was very tasty. It does take pretty constant watching--you can't put it into the oven and go off shopping -- but it was worth every minute I spent preparing it. I did turn the roast every 30 minutes as directed in the recipe, and I'm glad I followed the recipe to a "t," because it surely is a winner. I did forget to put carrots and potatoes in, but it worked out fine because we had a broccoli casserole as our vegetable. Thanks for posting it, PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      The name says it all. It's a perfect pot roast recipe. When I went to the grocery store, I did not like how fatty the cuts of chuck roast were so I bought a rump roast that was much leaner. I was worried that I'd be serving my family shoe leather for dinner because of the leaner cut of meat, but it turned out tender and tasty. I think that flipping the roast must be a secret to making it so tender that you can cut it with a fork. Thanks for posting this recipe. Nearly everyone at dinner complimented on how wonderful the roast turned out. I put some chopped carrots, whole mushrooms, and large onion chunks in a little over an hour before the roast was done and they were perfectly cooked. I also added a little cornstarch to the sauce at the end to thicken it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      PanNan, you've done it again! Exceptional, truly exceptional. It's extremely rare when all four of us love a meal. I have two picky eaters, and my son ate three helpings of it, and my daughter ate two. I can't remember when they've eaten so much (and for two skinny kids, getting them to eat healthy food is wonderful). The gravy (which the kids didn't eat, but the adults did) gave the dish a richer taste. I used this recipe with a 2 lb eye roast. I reduced the cooking time from 3.5 to 2.5 hours to accommodate the smaller piece of meat. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used 1/3rd tsp of ground thyme. I also added larger chunks of carrots and potatoes 45 min before it was done, as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Excellent! I've made it with both beef and pork roasts, and they both turned out wonderful. Delicious for a cold winter evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Perfect Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.3
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    44%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 158.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 228.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 52.4 g
    104%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes