14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful cookies!!! My Papa and I love them so much that one batch is gone in a day!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful Mess March 21, 2010

Awesome cookies! I left out the raisins and wished I would have added more chocolate chips to replace them. Will make again, no questions asked!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghanmoo October 27, 2009

These tasted very cinnamony, but I had a problem. Mine came out rather dry and caky, not moist and gooey, like the recipe and other reviews said. Didn't have molasses, so used honey instead and substituted 1/2 the sugar for dark brown. I also did not use raisins; not our favorite addition to cookies. Perhaps my oven was too hot; I don't have a thermometer but relied on the setting I'd placed on my oven's dial. Will definitely try them again and modify the heat. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingRach September 15, 2009

The best oatmeal cookies I've ever had!! The coconut flakes add an extra flavor to the cookies! My husband and children can't get enough of them!!! Totally awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojolyn38 June 25, 2009

The flavor was very good but they stayed a little too moist for my preference. (I used a stick of butter in place of the shortening, if that made any difference.) I also got distracted and one batch cooled on the pan- the cookies were glued to the pan and I had to scrape them off- just a warning to get them off the pan before they cool!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech December 09, 2008

These are certainly the best Oatmeal Cookies that I've ever eaten - WOW!! They'll be our Oatmeal Cookie from on. Happy you posted it. Looking forward to trying the Cowboy version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanna D December 03, 2008

i went the whole hog and did the cowboy version...they are delicious. I also replaced one cup of plain flour for wholemeal (wholewheat) flour. It was an experiment to see if I could make them even higher in fibre and it paid off, the kids will not notice the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erin hill July 03, 2008

Wow! These were amazing. They stay super moist. They are probably my favorite oatmeal cookies ever and my husband loves them! Thanks so much for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa from OK January 10, 2008

Great recipe, the perfect combination of spices and sweetness, nice and gooey and chewy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs September 26, 2007

goodnessGRACious these were tasty!! excellent recipe! my husband doesn't like raisins, but next time I will add chocolate chips. thank you, will make these again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katy.swogger May 22, 2007
Simple Oatmeal Cookies or Cowboy Cookies