Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Mochi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Mochi

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      I would say my teenage son and I are "Mochi Snobs" except, considering the wildest version of this has all of half a dozen ingredients, there's not much to be snobbish about. At best, Mochi is (let's face it) a mildly sweet, mildly satisfying, rice-based gummy... thing. And at its worst, well, it pretty much gets the same description.

      That said, I live near enough to Manhattan's midtown "Korea Town" and we frequent the Asian market there which sells mochi in ever permutation and incarnation imaginable. So we've tasted hundreds of gut-busting pounds of the stuff over time, and decided this holds up and works well in a pinch when you NEED mochi.

      We found it too pasty so it's not getting my highest rating. We did it stove top to avoid some of the uncooked aspects most of you had offered as downfalls of this, and I think it helped with the extra heat time (total: 5 or 6 minutes) and mixing. However next time I will double the water to extend the dough's open-time thus giving it more of a chance to really cook through.

      A Pam-sprayed ice cube tray makes the perfect interesting bite-sized bits, and freezer time will just help it set that much more quickly.

      For a good saturday evening "why not, let's try it" thing, I give it an extra star above the 3 I'd normally grant. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe! It is so easy and it can be tweaked for anyone's liking. I used coconut in mine after reading it in another recipe. I use 2 parts flour, 2 parts liquid (coconut milk, water, evaporated milk, etc), and 1 part sugar. I also add butter and rum flavoring to mine. Very tasty! It's even easier to microwave in a ceramic casserole dish with a glass lid so there's no messing with/wasting of plastic wrap. The one thing that bothers me is that no matter what I do it still has a floury flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Wow, what a mess. :) I made this because it was quick and easy and I wanted to try mochi for myself. This was fairly easy but I made a big mess. I used cornstarch and I got it everywhere because I stuffed my mochi balls with chocolate chips while it was still warm. Easy, yummy, the kids love it.. but I made a mess. :) I think I'll make orange or cherry flavoured next time, and find something better to cook it in than a casserole dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Yay Mochi, remember most mochi is served cool, and by then this recipe is just like the real stuff. AWSOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Yes, it comes out sticky. Really sticky. But it's fast and the texture was super soft, so I'm not complaining. Mine was so soft it went from balls to patties on my tray. I left out some sugar and I shouldn't have. I'll use more next time, but that's a personal choice. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I must have done something seriously wrong because my batch came out slightly gritty with a heavy paste texture. It was entirely inedible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is an awesome recipe for Mochi -- I used Confectioners Sugar instead of Katakuriko for dusting, and it added a bit of sweetness while eliminating the stickiness entirely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This is a very simple and versatile recipe. If you plan to stuff it with filling, it is very sticky to handle, especially when it is warm/hot. Just have to be patient and dust it with the potato starch after filling each one. I tried filling them with peanut butter. It was awesome! And will try other fillings such as strawberry jam and red bean paste, etc. Thank you for this great recipe. I can now make it whenever I feel like having mochi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

    • on October 21, 2008

      Tried it twice and got thoroughly baked mochi both times. The flavor was delicious, but the texture was more like the bread in bread pudding than mochi I have had before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      It's yummy, and very sweet compared to mochi I have purchased at asian markets. I ground my own rice flour, from calrose rice, so that's probably why the flour separated out and made a weird layer on the bottom. I'll grind it finer next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      4 minutes is too long, mochi become hard. I tried them, and they are not sweet enough. I had to throw them away. Also I had a hard time rolling into a ball, maybe because it hardens. Tried with ice-cream, ice-cream melts too fast eventhough mochi has been cooled down. Cannot seal mochi, turned out super messy. I give up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      THE BEST mochi recipe out there! It is so easy to make, and very quick, too. I suggest using a small spring loaded ice cream scoop to get the perfect round shape! You can make it look like the classic kind you buy by adding a little pink food colouring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I've had a lot of mochi in my day and unfortunately I have to rate this recipe a 2. It was not sweet enough. There needs to be a certain amount of sugar to kind of override the taste of the rice flour and I found it to just taste really doughy and not enough like a dessert. The dough was a pretty good consistency, but it really did need more sugar to appeal to most mochi fans. Also, nice profile. Who refers to themselves as 'ridiculously smart', anyway? Gah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

    • on December 10, 2007

      VERY easy and very yummy! It tasted like the one i had outside.. But i didnt have potato starch, so i used corn flour. But still very nice~ I had chocolate filling for mine and oh it tasted soooo good! Will definitely make it very very frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I had tried another mochi recipe which came out more cake-like. I loved how simple this was to make, and that there was no kneading involved. (yay!) I used gluten free rice flour(it's what I had available), also I added a drop of red food coloring and a tiny bit of vanilla flavoring. The only thing I had to adjust was the cooking time. I needed an extra minute in the microwave to fully cook the center. I cheated as far as dusting goes, I coated my hands in powdered sugar (didn't have potato starch so I had to improvise) and then rolled the dough into balls. I have to say they were very yummy! I don't think the change in the flour affected it at all. Thank you for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This is the easiest recipe i have seen for mochi. It works very well and dosen't have the kneading and watching that others do. Now, if only someone could tell me how to get it into neat balls without it sticking to everything and how to get it off walls and ceilings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Mochi

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    61%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes