19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would say my teenage son and I are "Mochi Snobs" except, considering the wildest version of this has all of half a dozen ingredients, there's not much to be snobbish about. At best, Mochi is (let's face it) a mildly sweet, mildly satisfying, rice-based gummy... thing. And at its worst, well, it pretty much gets the same description.

That said, I live near enough to Manhattan's midtown "Korea Town" and we frequent the Asian market there which sells mochi in ever permutation and incarnation imaginable. So we've tasted hundreds of gut-busting pounds of the stuff over time, and decided this holds up and works well in a pinch when you NEED mochi.

We found it too pasty so it's not getting my highest rating. We did it stove top to avoid some of the uncooked aspects most of you had offered as downfalls of this, and I think it helped with the extra heat time (total: 5 or 6 minutes) and mixing. However next time I will double the water to extend the dough's open-time thus giving it more of a chance to really cook through.

A Pam-sprayed ice cube tray makes the perfect interesting bite-sized bits, and freezer time will just help it set that much more quickly.

For a good saturday evening "why not, let's try it" thing, I give it an extra star above the 3 I'd normally grant. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CasMarino November 13, 2010

Thank you for this recipe! It is so easy and it can be tweaked for anyone's liking. I used coconut in mine after reading it in another recipe. I use 2 parts flour, 2 parts liquid (coconut milk, water, evaporated milk, etc), and 1 part sugar. I also add butter and rum flavoring to mine. Very tasty! It's even easier to microwave in a ceramic casserole dish with a glass lid so there's no messing with/wasting of plastic wrap. The one thing that bothers me is that no matter what I do it still has a floury flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashtears September 12, 2009

This is an awesome recipe for Mochi -- I used Confectioners Sugar instead of Katakuriko for dusting, and it added a bit of sweetness while eliminating the stickiness entirely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drew F. November 14, 2009

VERY VERY HAPPY! I'm no "mochi snob" -- I just enjoy it and wanted to try to make it. Loved the ease and speed of the recipe! Very happy with the gummy texture and the amount the recipe makes is perfect for at home. They did harden after 4 or 5 days, so I wouldn't double the recipe unless bringing them somewhere. I filled with bean paste and enjoyed them. Today, I'm trying chocolate mochi with hazlenut spread and a cherry... can't wait. Thanks for the recipe. Looking forward to trying to make a plain cherry filling eventually, but will have to research filling info to try to see what would work best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yum Mum March 10, 2015

Wow, what a mess. :) I made this because it was quick and easy and I wanted to try mochi for myself. This was fairly easy but I made a big mess. I used cornstarch and I got it everywhere because I stuffed my mochi balls with chocolate chips while it was still warm. Easy, yummy, the kids love it.. but I made a mess. :) I think I'll make orange or cherry flavoured next time, and find something better to cook it in than a casserole dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads July 05, 2010

Yay Mochi, remember most mochi is served cool, and by then this recipe is just like the real stuff. AWSOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ekhackett June 16, 2010

Yes, it comes out sticky. Really sticky. But it's fast and the texture was super soft, so I'm not complaining. Mine was so soft it went from balls to patties on my tray. I left out some sugar and I shouldn't have. I'll use more next time, but that's a personal choice. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.milburn February 14, 2010

I must have done something seriously wrong because my batch came out slightly gritty with a heavy paste texture. It was entirely inedible

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmousea February 02, 2010

This is a very simple and versatile recipe. If you plan to stuff it with filling, it is very sticky to handle, especially when it is warm/hot. Just have to be patient and dust it with the potato starch after filling each one. I tried filling them with peanut butter. It was awesome! And will try other fillings such as strawberry jam and red bean paste, etc. Thank you for this great recipe. I can now make it whenever I feel like having mochi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetTooth08 January 14, 2009
Simple Mochi