Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2009

      This recipe is so wonderful! Have made it three times and it is extremely easy to make and is just smooth and terrific. I use regular milk chocolate chips and chop them up a bit because I haven't had mini chips around the house lately. I made it with half and half and heavy cream instead of the low fat milk - so decadent! I also used fat free milk and cream and it was just as good. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      All the boys gave this 5 stars. I had to use the regular sized chocolate chips, but it didn't matter. Everyone loved it and very very easy to make, in fact, this is the first time I have made ice cream and it came out wonderfully. Thanks so much! ~ update: needed an easy recipe for cookies and cream ice cream and adapted this - left out peppermint, added extra tsp vanilla, and whipped it up in the ice cream maker, then stirred in cookies before popping the whole of it in my freezer for a few hours. Big hit! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      My husband requested mint chocolate chip ice cream for Father’s Day and this recipe was exactly what I was looking for! The flavor is wonderful and I like how we can change the amount of mint flavoring to suit our tastes. The recipe was also very fast and easy, not keeping me in the kitchen over a stove making a custard. Ironically, the only reason we are not rating it a five star is actually due to the fact that we did not make a custard base. For this reason, the ice cream did not have a very creamy texture like we prefer. For ease and flavor, this is a 5 star. For texture, it is a 3-4 star.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      Very tasty and easy to make. It's a "clean" mint flavor with no aftertaste. This is so easy that it makes no sense to purchase mint ice cream ever again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Very good recipe. I used 1/2 n 1/2 and whole milk, because thats what I had on hand. I also subbed crushed up thin mint girl scout cookies for the chocolate chips - amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

    • on July 10, 2009

      Yum! We loved this! Omitted the food coloring and used regular chocolate chips, finely chopped. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Wonderful! I took others' advice and chopped the chocolate chips down fine with the very tasty result of every bite having shards of chocolate. This ice cream is super tasty and easy to make. Just the right balance of mint-y-ness and chocolate-y-ness! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I loved it! I'll probably shave the chocolate next time as per other reviewers, for a finer texture. Although if I can find the Andes mint chips again, I'll use them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Made this for Memorial Day BBQ, everyone loved it! Instead of using chocolate chips I used Lindt Dark Mint Chocolate, and I shaved it. Thanks for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      This is very good! The only thing I changed was to use a good quality chocolate and grated it. The chocolate was more evenly distributed without the crunchiness. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      THis is pretty good! It was very easy which is a big bonus. THe only problem I had with it is that the texture seemed somewhat slightly grainy, almost like a low fat ice cream. Next time I make it I will double the mint extract too. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!! I doubled the recipe because we're big ice cream lovers. I also used whole milk instead of 2% (I think it makes a better ice cream). And I managed to find Andes Mint baking pieces in my baking aisle so I used those instead of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe. This is a definite repeat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Yummy! This was a big hit (both times we've made it so far) for both kids and adults. The recipe is easy to prepare. Made exactly as listed. Great served with warm brownies and fudge sauce for dessert. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Excellent flavor. I would only say to be sure to use Pure Vanilla Extract. I used about two big handfuls of regular sized semi-sweet chocolate chips and processed them in my food processor for a little while til they were chunky flakes. I folded them into the ice cream and YUM is it good. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Very good ice cream. I made a second batch and modified it quite a bit. I left out the food coloring and mint, and instead added half a jar of chopped Cherries and cherry juice and made Cherry Chocolate Chip. Jimmy www.icecreammaking.net

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Actually, I started making this recipe, then realized I was out of peppermint extract- so we decided to just try it out as chocolate chip ice cream. IT was really incredible, so I can only imagine how great it would be as actual mint chocolate chip. It made a little more than my 1 1/2 qt. ice cream maker wanted to hold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      WoW!!!!!!!!!! This ice cream was excellent and very easy to make in my ice cream maker. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

    • on February 05, 2006

      Really yummy! I made this to go with our special after Church Dinner. My husband helped me make it because its what we do on Sundays :) We both couldn't seem to stay out of it. I do not think I will ever buy store bought again. This was simply a awesome no fuss recipe. I would give ten stars of I could- it's that good !! Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.1
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    60%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 86.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 86.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 40.0 g
    160%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes