Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2003

      Great flavour and very simple to make. This is something that once you get to the lid on and simmer stage you can set the timer and walk away. Love that! I reduced the oil to about 2 teaspoons and it worked no problems! I used regular long grain rice and chopped fresh vegetables (as I hardly ever have any frozen). I used carrot, beans , mushroom and corn. Served with grilled chicken and salsa for a tasty and healthy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      A tasty simple recipe, thanks for posting. I have made it several times now and always enjoy it. I also like it minus the cup of mixed vegetables but with the addition of some grated cheese and a decent amount of chopped parsley just before serving - either way it works really well as a side dish or the basis of a main meal with some grilled chicken or marinated lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Very nice Mexican rice! I typically use Pot Scrubber's recipe for Mexican rice, but sometimes I don't have the time to tie up the oven for the rice at one temp and the rest of the meal at another temp, so this is a perfect stand-in for when I need to make the rice on the stovetop from start to finish. I used some tomato-chicken flavored powdered bouillon and Jasmine rice for this. This went perfectly with the fish and summer squash that we ate for dinner. Thanks for posting! Made for The Honeys for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      Fabulous! This was so easy to make and the flavor was amazing! I did not add the frozen vegetables, but rather, a diced jalapeƱo and a diced red anaheim pepper. I also used red onions for color. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. I did add just a little bit of ground cumin to the rice as well. I served the rice with stuffed Pork Tenderloin with Cilantro Lime Pesto (Stuffed Pork Tenderloin With Cilantro Lime Pesto), and the flavor combination was fantastic! Be sure to garnish with freshly chopped cilantro when serving...that burst of flavor is amazing! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This was just a tasty and easy rice to make!!I am a mexican and I was tired of making plain orange rice this recipe really was not plain at all MY FAMILY LOVED IT!!!I only added one tablespoon of tomatoe sauce to give the rice color .TY

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      I made this as a last minute side dish for dinner last night. Unfortunately I didn't have all of the exact ingredients on hand. I had to make a few substitutions. I had to use brown rice for the converted rice. I also had to use veggie bouillon cubes for the chicken bouillon powder. For the veggies I used what we had on hand. We used a combination for asparagus, corn and beans. Even with all the little changes, it turned out great! The only thing I would do differently is cut back on the veggies by about half. This is a quick, easy and tasty dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      I made this as written except I used long grain rice(I don't buy converted). Seems like I try a different rice recipe everytime and this one was right up there with the best. I served it with enchiladas and black beans for a tasty Mexican meal. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      A very easily prepared and delicious recipe, very easy on the eye. I used a sweet red pepper, and frozen corn and peas, and added a generous handful of chopped coriander (cilantro) at the end, because we both enjoy it. We really liked this, and I will definitely be making it again. This was made for ZWT 8, Lively Lemon Lovelies, thank you PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I forgot to put in the mixed veggies, darn! I did add in 4 oz diced chilies. I used brown rice and it needed about one hour cooking time. It tasted great and was a perfect, healthy complement to our tamale meal.

      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      mild, tasty, easy, I love this rice, perfect compliment to other Mexican foods!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Made several mistakes when making this recipe (for example, I only had 1 boullion cube and only had arborio rice), duh, but this was still excellent. I used mixed vegetables, added 1/2 sweet pepper and jarred jalapenos. Also, used less oil. Substituted the missing boullion with a dry onion soup mix. I'll make this again, with the right ingredients :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was the best Mexican rice ever!! I have the strangest time getting Mexican rice recipes right and this one was absolutely perfect!! So easy and very delicious. I used brown rice instead and increased the cooking time to 50 min. I also used 3 hot peppers from my garden. The rice had a really great flavor and a little bit of spice from the peppers. Thanks so much for this recipe. I am definitely holding on to it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This rice is bomb! I am the ultimate judge of authentic mexican food and this receipe is exactly what you are looking for if you are looking for some good ol' authentic arroz mexicano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I really liked this rice and thought this was a great way to add a bit more veggies to the meal. I cut the oil down to 1 Tbs and used a mix of green and red bell peppers and frozen mixed veggies. I served this with soft tacos using Mucho Gusto Taco Seasoning Mix and Freakin' Good Guacamole. Thank you, I will be making this again! Made for ZWT5 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Loved this rice. I don't know why I never thought of adding frozen veg. in before but it really works well. I did use a sweet pepper and next time I will put a little more spice into it. I used chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for ZWT5 Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Great rice!! I just used 1 cup of peas that I added to the rice only 5 min before the rice was done. I used parboiled rice and I always double the amount of liquid to the rice. I only used 1 tsp of oil as I have a non-stick pots and 1 tsp were plenty. You can save quite a few calories by cutting back on the oil. This is a keeper and I will be making it often. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Good recipe! I didn't use the veggies, and I added a bit of chili powder and cumin for a little more flavor. It was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Excellent! This is more like a rice pilaf than what is typically served in Tex-Mex restaurants. I used brown rice, so had to revise the amount of rice and water. My veggies were a bit blanched out due to the longer cooking time. Next time, I will thaw the peas and carrots and throw them in at the end. It was a wonderful side dish and the left-overs made delicious fried rice. PanNan, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Loved it. Simple tasty and cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This was a good, quick side dish for the taquitos I got from Costco! Easy, fuss-free dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.5
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    31%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 165.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites