18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is fantastic! I could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner! This would go well with almost any main course. Easy to make and perfect for summer! This is a refreshing recipe I could eat over and over again! When I close my eyes it makes me feel like I am in a very expensive restaurant except that these tomatoes are better than most of the food you normally get in an expensive restaurant! GOOD JOB Dorothy!!!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan'l September 09, 2002

I wish I had been able to find some fresh basil, but even with the dry, this recipe just hit the spot! I prepared it in a 8" pie plate which seemed to be just the right size to fit the tomatoes. I allowed the tomatoes to marinate for two hours. Served alone as a side salad, with some freshly grated Parmesan Cheese sprinkled on top, it was absolutely delightful! Thanks again, Dorothy!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 05, 2002

Dorothy I cannot say enough about how wonderful this recipe is!!!I hope everyone tries it. I will be making this often. Thaqnk you so much.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie September 09, 2002

Simple, fast and tasty. The dry basil adds a nice taste combination with the balsamic vinegar. I can only imagine what it would taste like with fresh basil.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J September 03, 2002

Well does this ever go well with the garden surplus of tomatoes - as already said I can eat this morning noon & evening. The fresh basil is wonderful. I added some raw sliced mushrooms too (the ones I picked up today were so fresh and snow white) Thanks Dorothy for a great, simple,but good , taste treat

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 01, 2002

Very delicious! We have been looking for a recipe close to what we fell in love with years ago and this is pretty close. Thanks for posting this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 October 17, 2002

Very good! In our house, one veggie we all can agree on is tomatoes. I made this along side of shrimp kabobs, london broil and potatoes; I did not have celery, and did not add onions (DH hates raw ones) and it was still good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook June 25, 2003

We loved these tomatoes! I used dried basil and let the marinade refrigerate overnight. Sliced the tomatoes and layered them in a square glass baking dish. Poured the marinade over them right before serving and they were so good. I did use a better quality balsamic vinegar and think that made a nicer flavored marinade. This is a keeper! Made and reviewed for the Diabetic Forums April Special Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 02, 2010

I've had better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superfly-mom September 18, 2008

Loved this! The celery and green onion took the place of the mozzarella in this making it more healthy than capresse. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk April 16, 2008
Simple Marinated Vine Ripened Tomatoes