Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Homemade Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Homemade Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2012

      Pretty tasty but not my fave. If in a rush I will probably do this again other wards I will take the long road and make them authentically.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Delicious, wow! And so easy!!! Who knew? I added a little garlic powder mmmmmmmmm. Thanks for the keepr Cooks4_6!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Yummy and so easy! I halved the recipe for 2 of us and added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I will never buy the canned stuff again! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This was great! I used half the butter, and it was plenty rich. These were so much better than the canned ones - I'll be making them this way from now on. What a great idea to use salsa! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Just what I was looking for! I was making a casserole that called for refried beans so I found your recipe. I used half in the recipe and we ate the other half last night for a snack. Delicious. I am amazed at how easy refried beans can be. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Holy Cow! These are awesome refried beans. I have been looking for good refried beans that are similar to the ones in mexican restraunts. This did it for me! So simple and so yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Very good and simple beans. I like the fresh taste of them compared to canned. I used half butter and bacon grease. The salsa I used was hot. This was a great way to use up the last of a salsa jar. We made burritos and added this to each one. Made and Reviewed for Zaar Stars Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Delicious! These beans are so simple to make and taste so much better than the canned variety. I left out the salt because the salt from the butter and cheese was plenty for my family's tastes. I used a "medium" heat salsa and 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese. These beans were the perfect side to our fish taco dinner and my family gave them 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for Zaar Stars*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Great! Simple and good. Thanks Cooks. Madefor Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Yes! This was just what I was looking for. Thank you so much for posting...they turned out very yummy. I omitted the salt (I used salted butter so I figured that was enough). Easy and fast to make. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This is a great hurry up recipe. If you don't have time to make a pot of beans, this is the recipe to make. Tasty! Thanks for sharing! ~Made for Bevy Tag 5/08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      These were very easy to make and very tasty. I used them along with seasoned ground turkey to make tostadas. I just mixed the beans into the cooked and seasoned turkey once the beans were done. We really enjoyed our tostadas with them. Thanks for an easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This was very easy, love pinto beans :0 Did cut back a little on the butter and add just a little bacon grease.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      These were delicious!! I had to guess a little on the amounts b/c I was using leftover pinto beans I had made in the crockpot. They still were great. My husband was super impressed and said they were awesome! Thanks for making my first attempt at homemade refried beans a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      This halved easily, although in doing so, I had to add slightly more beans to get a thicker consistency. I also added cumin (about 2-3 tsp.) as our family really likes this spice. Thanks for a quick and tasty side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I must aagree with the others, this is great! My DH loved it and so do I! Easy and quick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Yum! These beans are really tasty! Everyone in our dinner party loved them. I think I may cut back on the cheese next time and add a bit less butter- They were REALLY gooey and rich, a wonderful addition to our chicken burritos. Thanks so much for posting this definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

    • on May 26, 2007

      Yummy!!!! My BFF made this for Mexican night. I don't normally like refried beans, but this is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Wonderful. Easy. Tasty. Loved by all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Homemade Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    38%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 638.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites