15 Reviews

My husband & I loved these. We used 2 tbs of butter & 1 tbs olive oil; and served them with pork tenderloin. Thank you very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarinaw September 09, 2007

We really liked these. The next time I made them, I used carrots and mushrooms, and when done topped with sour cream, and they were good too. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookalot #2 July 06, 2010

Simplicity at it's finest!! These are absolutely fantastic and what I like best is that everyone you are feeding can now add what they prefer in their foil packets. I made mine with baby red potatoes cut in half and added small chunks of pepper and onion. They came out so soft and with great flavor. Next time I will add a clove of garlic as well with no worry about it burning during cooking. I made these in the oven at 350 degrees for exactly one hour. Thank you so very much for posting this super recipe - it's going into my "WOW" cookbook and will be made often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 28, 2009

These are great! I did make a few substitutions; I used around 1/2 cup of olive oil instead of butter, added 1/2 of a large red onion, and some garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCeleste February 01, 2009

Great recipe...I had really small red potatoes so I skipped dicing them. I added marjoram, minced garlic, salt, a small amount of dill, pepper and fresh parsley. I did 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil, as baby e suggested. I found that filpping the foil packet a few times really infused the potatoes with all the herbs. RAVE reviews!! Thank you for a recipe that stands beautifully as is but can be added to just as easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clever_Little_Witch July 20, 2008

Delish. Obviously, you can tweak the flavors to your liking. I used herbed olive oil as a substitute for part of the butter, and added crushed garlic, chili flakes and red onion. To save cooking time, I nuked the diced potatoes for about three minutes until they were slightly tender. They took about half the time on the grill and turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baby e July 01, 2008

Great, easy recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renaegc June 30, 2008

I did enjoy this recipe overall. It was easy to put together and the end result tasted delicious. However, I believe about half as much butter would have tasted the same with less waste (there was a huge pool in the bottom of the foil, and I also lost quite a bit when my foil got a hole in it). I ended up using Vege-Sal because I found I was out of traditional seasoning salt. The potatoes were perfectly cooked in just under an hour. I will add this to my cookbook, and will make it again using only 1/2 c. butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch May 13, 2008

I love these potatoes. I did use regular potatoes and kept everything the same,I did add some onion. This recipe is wonderful marsha and I highly recommend it!! :) 5stars plus

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faith58 September 10, 2007

These were great! I did follow the suggestion of one reviewer and used 2 T butter, 3 T olive oil, crushed garlic and about 30 - 40 minutes on the grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef likestocook June 24, 2007
Simple Grilled Red Potatoes