Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Easy Chesapeake Bay Rosy Crab Soup from the Farm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Easy Chesapeake Bay Rosy Crab Soup from the Farm

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2012

      This is wonderful and easy! This is a favorite already. I added carrots and celery, but otherwise did the recipe as specified. A friend of mine added diced tomatoes and seafood stock, and said it was great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This is a great, healthy alternative to the cream cheese heavy crab recipes that abound. i used Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup http://www.recipezaar.com/Thick-and-Rich-Creamy-Tomato-Soup-350894 in place of the canned stuff. For my veggies, i just used celery. Like a seaside bloody mary for dinner (sans vodka, of course). Delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      OMG Andi. This was great. I used canned crab and made just as stated, super easy and yummy. DH loved it too. I used asparagus in mine but will use a combo of veggies next time. Thanks so much for submitting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Yummy! It was raining all day today so I decided to make some soup. It was my first time I made crap soup and it was very lovely. I live in a rural area so I'm unable to find fresh crabs or fresh crab meat, so I used two tins of can crab meat and it worked perfectly. I kept to the written recipe and even added 1/2 cup vegetables (Carrot, beans, potatoes). I garnished it with fresh parsley from the garden and Homemade Croutons. Hubby and I really enjoyed it, Little Miss (DD) ate a few spoonfuls and said it was a spicy 14 star. Thank you Andi for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      live on the east coast love blue crabs and yeaterday we had 40 mile per hr wind gusts. started with base soup added chicken broth for water, only had fresh veggies on hand so carrots onions celery potatoes and some spinach use 2 tablespoons of old bay. had whole wheat rolls.used can crab even now fresh even now crabs are flown in. love the flavor and the taste let the winds blow. Andi just wanted to note always check out your recipes because i love the "stories " or tales that go with your recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      It was hailing outside today, so I thought I would give another one of you soups a try to warm my day up.Much like the other two soup recipe of yours I tried this soup was most excellent! I used margarine since thats all I had in the house, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I added asparagus since I seem to be on an asparagus kick latley and it went great with the rest of the flavors of the soup. I never had a tomato based crab soup before so I was a bet leery at the idea at first, but I am sure glad I gave it a try! Super simple and tasty recipe that I will be sure to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Andi, I wish I could give you more stars. This was so good and easy. I followed your base recipe and added Pictsweets seasoned frozen corn and black beans. I also added a couple shakes of cayenne pepper. UMMMMMMMMM! I bought a loaf of unbaked multi-grain french bread and baked it. Then after pouring myself a glass of white wine...and taking a picture, I sat down to one of the most flavorful and enjoyable crab soups I have ever had. I normally like a white cream base as my crab soup but this was awesome. I plan to try this base with leftover rotisserie chicken. This is a keeper. It was so good - and foodies will get this - I was almost moved to tears. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Loved this so easy-to-fix soup, Andi! I lightened it up a bit - the rosy color, not the soup. I used cream of tomato soup + milk for a creamy version, 1/2 lb canned lump crabmeat, the full amt of Old Bay & added snow peas for color & texture, mainly because I happen to like the combo of crab & snow peas. This made a warming, lovely meal served w/just a crusty baguette + garlic butter & a mixed green salad. Yum! Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      In less time than it takes to pick up the phone and call out for pizza, you can whip up this soup! I added some frozen corn to give it a little something extra. Next time I may cut down on the Old Bay just a tad, but other than that this is perfect! I am going to always have a can of tomato soup and a can of crabmeat on hand to make this in a jiffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Easy Chesapeake Bay Rosy Crab Soup from the Farm

    Serving Size: 1 (461 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.4
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    31%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 647.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crabmeat

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes