34 Reviews

I made this for a christmas pot luck. Very nice flavor. Two notes. I did mix the cranberries and scallions with the cream cheese. I also loved using the spinach tortillas for the holidays. But the garlic salt I didn't use. I used garlic powder and 1/2 the amount which was plenty. I don't think it needed any salt. Very good, quick and easy. I didn't spread the cheese on too heavy because I think a thinner spread makes a pretty roll. They turned out great. I added fine chopped walnuts to half of the spread to make the other 2 tortillas which was really good.

Not one left which is always a good sign. They were enjoyed by all.
Thx, kim

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook December 25, 2010

You don't have to be Minnesotan to love these (like me!) but boy are these good! The garlic and green onions add really good flavor to the cream cheese and cranberries. Next time I think I'll fold the cranberries and green onions into the garlic cream cheese mixture so that the yummy cranberries and green onions don't fall out while cutting/serving the pinwheels. People ate these all up at the Christmas party we had!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SSX January 07, 2010

I just threw together a batch of these for a Christmas eve party, and they look really festive. They are super easy to make and tasty too. Based on a couple of reviews, I decided to mix the green onions and craisons into the cream cheese before spreading and it worked like a charm. I planned to make 6 tortillas, so I increased all of the ingredients by 50% except for the green onions, but I wanted the spirals to be full and spread the cream cheese fairly thick. In the end, I only used 4 tortillas...I don't think that it would have been enough cream cheese mixture without increasing it. I also used garlic powder instead of salt and refrigerated the rolls for about an hour before cutting to harden up the cream cheese a bit.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 December 24, 2010

I made this for a wine tasting/appetizer party. They were easy to make and helped give the table a festive look. I did not want to ripe the pinwheel due to cutting across a whole cranberry. So I chopped the cranberries smaller using a chefs knife. You can make these a few days head and refrigerate them. Just be careful you do not let anyone taste test them, or they will disappear before the party. I was not as generous with the spread and they still turned out very tasty. I'll make these for holiday events for YEARS to come. Made for Let's P-A-R-T-Y! ~2010

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 15, 2010

I made these for a Christmas party. They were gone in no time. I served them on a nice crystal plate and they looked very appealing.
I added all the ingredients together before spreading and it worked fine. I did add a few walnuts just for a little more interest. I chopped up the walnuts and dried cranberries into smaller pieces to make spreading the mix on the tortillas easier. After chilling for an hour they were easy to slice with a very sharp knife. I will be making these again. The amount of filling was perfect for 4 large tortillas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava G. December 16, 2011

These are really yummy and supper easy to make. I made them for a christmas party the day before and they're nice to make ahead and just stick in the frig. I made them with green tortilas, like someone else had put on their review and they looked very festive. I also left out the onion because they are not my favorite but added dried chives instead for color and they were great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephaniebullo December 22, 2010

Everyone loved these pinwheels! They were gobbled up in no time! I used Spinach tortilla wraps which helped make them look so festive. I also found that one bunch of green onions was enough. The recipe says that it serves 40, but it makes 40 pinwheels and no one can eat just one of these! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 December 26, 2009

I too live in MN! Waiting for a big snow storm to hit this week - love it! Made these as the recipe stated and took them to a holiday gift exchange party! They were THE hit! Everyone asked for the recipe and I took no left overs home! Everyone said how 'festive' they were with the red (cranberries) and green (onion) in them. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzette Marie December 22, 2009

Made these for a Christmas tea for our patients where I work. People really liked them. Used garlic powder and only used one bunch of green onion - felt that was plenty. Looked so pretty- very Christmasy. Will definetly make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
904133 December 15, 2009

Easy and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 January 08, 2014
Simple & Delicious Cranberry Cream Cheese Pinwheels