Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Cucumbers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Cucumbers

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2010

      My mom's garden is bursting with cukes! This is a great recipe for them. I did use fresh ground pepper, like you suggested, and it didn't disappoint. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      These are good. I like the bite from the vinegar but find that I prefer my cucumbers with a bit of sugar too, to balance the acidity. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      So yummy. I used red wine vinegar because that was all I had on hand. Great for warm weather.Served with beef kabobs and pecan rice. Thanks for a simple , easy recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      I wasn't sure whether I was going to like this, but I ended up loving it. So simple, yet so tasty. I would suggest doubling the recipe as it goes fast. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I just made some for myself right now! I just add the salt and pepper to taste, never really measured out the ingredients. I thought I was the only one who liked cucumbers like this! Absolutely LOOOOOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Sometimes simple is best! I used apple cider vinegar with my cucumbers, plus a dash of hot sauce :) I love how you can take very simple ingredients and make something refreshing and tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      So very easy for me to make! So very easy for my Brother to eat...This is just what he likes. Thank You so very much for posting. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      We had this all the time growing up as well. My mom would always slice the cucumbers, drizzle them with olive oil, sprinkle with red wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      My Mom made this, but added sliced raw onions with the cucumbers,vinegar, salt and pepper. As years went by I began to put sectioned garden tomatoes in with it, too. Excellent dish and a great way to use lots of the summers harvest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Love this recipe. Just what I was looking for. I enjoy it more now than as a child. Perfect compliment for a summer meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Try this recipe with lemon juice instead of vinegar and add tomatoes. My kids love this as a snack on a hot day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      My family serves this yummy recipe every holday and summers. We also use more vinegar and dilute with water. Sometimes we add quartered tomatoes as well. So simple yet so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      I never thought of doing this with cucumbers! So very simple! What a nice light lunch this was today! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      This is the way I serve cucumbers in the summer. It is an easy dish to prepare. The only thing I do extra is use more vinegar and dilute it slightly with water, and add lots and lots of pepper and garlic. I'm so glad you posted this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      I've been eating these since I was a little girl! My grandmother always added sliced sweet onions. Now, when I make it, I sometimes use Red Wine Vinegar for a different "punch."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      This is the ONLY way to eat cukes!!! love em...we often don't even let them sit, cause we just can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      I had a cucumber I wanted to use and was looking for something easy to make for lunch. This recipe fit the bill! It's so easy and really delicious! I can't stop snacking on it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

    • on October 05, 2002

      I often serve plain cucumber spears as a veggie. This was a tasty change of pace, and not much more difficult. I doubled it for my family of 4, but didn't make any other changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      This is a great simple way to makea light salad. Try adding dill for some extra flavor. Also, try using some rice vinegar instead of regular vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Cucumbers

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    35%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes