Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Crunchy Potato and Onion Casserole - Low Cal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Crunchy Potato and Onion Casserole - Low Cal

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2003

      Unbelievable! I was left speechless... my husband actually rated this 5 stars!! He rarely comments on dinner and is extremely stingy with his stars. He insists 5 stars should be saved for something REALLY special. This was so easy to put together and everyone loved it. The onions and potatoes were nicely cooked and the crispy edges were delicious. I wouldn't add a thing! The salt, pepper, butter and onion perfectly flavored these potatoes. No leftovers here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      Don't be fooled by the simplicity of this recipe. I passed it by a couple of times, but when I did make it, it was fabulous! I added some dried garlic in between layers, and used red onions, and of course, I added the cheddar...but I am thinking parmesan might be even better. Give it a try -- you probably already have all the ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I'm making this recipe right now. I only used two potato's, one thin layer at the bottom, and one on top. And I only had half of a large onion available, so I diced it and used it for the middle layer. I also drizzled much more butter than recommended, four times as much total, a couple tbsp on each layer. Also several seasonings were added, parsley, sage, etc. Also a little bit of cheese was added in between the layers. I also topped the whole dish with parmesan and more cooking oil/spray while it was in the oven. It's passed the first 20 minutes covered, and is now finishing it's 40 minutes uncovered. I sliced the potatoes very thin, and only did layered them thinly... so I expect the cooking time to be less. But we'll see. i also added a generous amount of Louisiana hot sauce on each layer. I'll post this after the dish is ready and has been tasted so I can add a final review at the end...

      This dish turned out great. In fact, I didn't have time to post, because I was busy preparing a second round. Yes, we actually finished the whole first dish, and went right back and made a second one. Which is all gone now. We decided against the third round, considering it's past mid night. I was very liberal with the hot sauce, and everything was delicious. I have many more potatoes and will be making this recipe again tomorrow, with some more enhancements, of course.

      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Yummy Dish! My mom made something similar when I was growning up. I added a little sprinkle of garlic to the potato layers. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      my husband and I loved this! Not only because it was so tasty but because it was versatile! The next morning we fried it up and added eggs for a super yummy breakfast! With only the two of us we eat a lot of leftovers which can get really boring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      I fixed this as a side dish to roasted chicken the other night. Wow! This is fantastic. I used red skinned potatoes, but I left the skin on and I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes and the onions super thin. If you make this as written it comes out fabulous. The only thing I did different was to up the temp on the oven to 400 for the last 10 minutes. They came out crispy and yummy. My father said they were the best potatoes he has eaten and he is a mashed potatoes lover. Thanks for posting. I will make these again and again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      his was very tasty and quick too! Added some thyme

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Great recipe, try adding if you like spicy, garlic, cayenne, jalapeno or if not basil, oregano parsley. Can microwave leftovers for late nite munchies, won't be crisp but will be really good. One of the easiest and best great recipes I have found. A five star indeed. Thank you, Beachgirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Yummy recipe and very versatile! I used 4 medium potatoes in a pie pan. After the 20 + 40, I put it under the broiler to get them crispy. I think I will add garlic next time and also cheese, too. Thanks, BeachGirl! Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #14

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      This just didn't work for me. I might have put the potatoes and onions in too tall a casserole. The potatoes didn't cook and had to be put back in the oven for an additional 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Delicious! I halved the recipe and wish I hadn't. I did drizzle about two tablespoons of butter on them and let them bake a little longer. These smell so good while baking. Thanks for sharing the keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      Love this recipe. It's easy to make with ingredients that are usually in the house. Added some cheese to it:). Very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      What an amazing recipe. So simple a child could do it, and yet it tastes absolutely divine.
      I can't recommend this highly enough. The only problem with it is that you will never have any leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Crunchy Potato and Onion Casserole - Low Cal

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.4
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    15%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 147.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes