Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2012

      I had really bad problems. i think there was too muck sugar in the recipe. When we took them out of the oven, i noticed that it tasted too much like flour and sugar, and did not get enough of the chocolate flavor. The top also came out hard, as well as the cake. I added melted chocolate to the batter, but it still came out nasty. i would ask to change the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      These cupcakes were great. We followed the recipe exactly, and didn't have any problems. We were able to make 16 nice sized cupcakes...which gave us some leftovers that got put into the freezer. They are keeping well (though 1/2 of those have already been eaten)! Wonderful way to make cupcakes from scratch! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      this recipe was excellent. i made cupcakes one week and the next i doubled the quantity and split it between two pans and made a birthday cake!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Didn't get the chance to taste these but my friends LOVED them!! :) Brought them for Thanksgiving at a good friend's house! Used low-fat milk and cut down the sugar to 1 1/4 cup because I iced these with Marg's Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting)! Thanks Anme!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Yummy! Little Miss (DD) helped me make this for afternoon tea today for our visitors and it was so 'simple'. I halved the recipe and it made eight large muffins. I like the fact the fat contain was not very high so one of our visitors who was watching her diet was able to eat one. Thank you Anme

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Followed the directions exactly, i was starting to question the amount of butter that went in, it wouldnt really cream with the sugar, so i just added the eggs and vanilla and then it all blended nicely. I filled mine to the papers rim because i like domed cupcakes - because of this i only got 14 cupcakes but that was more then enough for us anyways. I used a creamcheese/peanut butter frosting and they taste great. I had wanted to add in oreos in the frosting and cupcakes, but someone ate them lol but this really is a great basic cupcake recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      these by far have been the worst cupcakes I have ever made, I don't know what went wrong, but they took 30 min to bake, and rose so much they overflowed, leaving a dimple in the middle from how much had fallen out, also the edges were as hard as a rock! don't waste your time on these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      This was my first attempt at from-scratch cupcakes. I am much more of a chef than baker, but anyway... The batter was VERY cocoa-ey, so I added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla extract (looking back I could have even added an extra whole teaspoon). Other than this I followed the recipe to the letter, using organic flour, sugar and eggs. I opted to use unsalted butter as well. The recipe was easy to execute with a Kitchen Aid mixer, using the white paddle attachment. As someone else noted, I did have to bake them for 20 minutes. I ended up with 12 very full cupcakes; I filled them to the brim and they didn't collapse. They taste very cocoa-ey and are very dense. Three stars because they tasted more like muffins than cupcakes, not sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      I have never had problems with cupcakes, but the ones that I made with this recipe collapsed. It was perfect on the inside, and the taste was very good, which is the only reason im not giving this 1 star. I double checked everything on the recipe and after I made them I went back again and checked everything, and I followed it to the letter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Thank you for this recipe, it is great, and very easy, I made it for my granddaughter and actually my daughter love it - the only thing is that I forgot to by chocolate powder so instead I used NESQUICK and IT WAS DELICIOUS and very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Pretty decent cupcakes. For a guy baking cupcakes for the first time, this recipe is simple and easy to use. I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa. I baked on a lower shelf, because I was afraid of burning the tops. This added about eight extra minute baking time. They turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      over flowed the pan in the oven for 5min. DANG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      These taste wonderful but we had a bit of a problem with them. I'm sure it was user error but thought I should mention it. Our cupcakes sank in the middle which made it pretty much impossible to frost. I've never had that happen to cupcakes before so I'm not sure what happened. It didn't stop the kids from eating them so I'll give them a four star for taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      These are very good and simple to make although it was difficult to cream such a small amount of butter into that much sugar, I added the eggs during that process and they turned out fine. I used our jumbo muffin tin and got 5 out of them (I could have gotten 4 larger ones). They baked for a total of 25 minutes. They are very light and airy so I dusted them with powdered sugar for a wonderful presentation. ~Buddha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      These are very good. I did only get 12. I guess my muffin tins are big! I may have overfilled a bit as some of them fell a bit but they tasted fine. I didn't ice them but next time I will. A little bit of Cool Whip on top tasted good. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Review my Recipe 2008 ~ You can never go wrong with a chocolate cupcake! I halved the recipe as I didn't need that many cupcakes. However, I only got 6 even with filling only 2/3 full. I also had to bake for 20 minutes.Thanks Anme!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.8
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    22%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 87.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites