Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Chili

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2012

      I made this exactly as written except I used extra lean ground turkey. It lived up to it's name - it was def. a simple chili. It was tasty as well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      I was looking for a simple chili recipe and this one was perfect. I added a can of Rotel but otherwise kept it close to the original recipe. The boys loved it. Great Friday night meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      Super yummy served over Frito's!
      I didn't have onion, but did have French Onion soup which I added to the recipe. My girls loved it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I made this on 6/25/10 for mine and SO's dinner. I wanted to be sure that there was enough for leftovers so it was made as follows, 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef was browned with 3/4 th cup of chopped sweet onion. Also used 2 14 1/2 ounce cans of fired roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. I used 10 ounces of tomato sauce, 1 1/2 Tablespoon of chili powder, 1 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin, and S & P to taste. The chili was simmered for about an hour, then 2 cans of kidney beans were drained, rinsed, then added. Then it was simmered for about 10 to 15 minutes more. The taste was very good, and I can see where this basic recipe has alot of possibilities to make to suit your families needs. This will be made again. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I'm not a big chili fan, but I LOVE this recipe. For additional calories, a dollop of sour cream is delicious. As leftovers, I put it on nacho chips with cheese, etc., then melt in oven. Oh my god it's amazing! I like that you can use all natural, healthy ingredients in the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Perfect! I have been looking for a recipe like my dad used to make and this was perfect! <br/><br/>I made a triple serving of this (12 servings instead of 4), so keep that in mind. I followed the recipe to the T except that I only included 2/3 of the amount of kidney beans called for, and I also include 1 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1 diced jalapeno pepper.<br/><br/>Gave it a bit more spice and a LOT of flavor. Recipe was perfect in flavor, but I may roll back the amount of diced tomatoes to 2/3 of what is called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      GREAT! Made it twice. Added 2 jalapona. Sliced lengthwise and seeded per pound of beef. Sub zesty chili diced tomatoes and green chili diced tomatoes. Added green and/or red pepper, 1/2 pepper per pound beef. Served with Cheddar cheese n sour cream - a must. First time no leftovers. Second time doubled, served 5 and have 1small bowl leftover. Family loved this do much made it twice in 4days. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Lucid501 thanks for sharing this Betty Crocker chili. It is super simple and tasty. As others<br/>have said it is not spicy so adjust seasonings accordingly. If you need a mild go anywhere<br/>chili this is good. Everyone enjoyed it. Next time we may add more sauce and a a <br/>bit of cayenne pepper. It was great served over rice with diced cherry tomatoes and<br/>shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Made this today very good I doubled the recipe adeed Jalape

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      The BEST chili ever! I literally searched 10 different websites to find a simple but delicious chili recipe to make for my family. I was a bit hesitant but I decided on this recipe, because most of the reviews were great. So I made it for dinner, and although I bumped up the amounts a bit, it turned out soooo great!! I will DEFINITELY be using this recipe to make my chili in the future ^.^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      This recipe sounds good I'm going to attempt to make it tonight for my husband. But I'm going to be adding jalepenos to it. I'll let y'all all know how it turns out ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Great recipe, but I have to admit that I tweaked it out. First thing I did was brown some chopped beef hotdogs. After browning, removed them from the pan (leaving any fat in the pan) & cooked the ground turkey with the onions. (didn't have beef) I omitted the can of diced tomatoes (had to add a bit of water to sub the tomatoes), added some cayenne for heat along with the other spices, & some chopped green bell pepper. At the end i added my own home made pinto beans, & let it simmer for as long as i could for the flavors to infuse. After all of that, it was just..muah! My husband & mother in law LOVED it! I definitely recommend this recipe to any first time chili makers because this is one of those great recipes that you can personalize to your own taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      I was looking to see if I should enter my chili recipe, when I found this. The only differences between my version and this is I use 1 pound of dried pinto beans instead of canned beans and double the onion. I'm a wimp when it comes to spicy-hot foods, so this suits me just fine -- just slightly warm but with a good chili flavor. Leftovers are even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      The base recipe is great and I would give it 5 stars. However my taste is hot. I added 2 dried red chili pods and 1/2 tsp basil. It, like most recipes is better the second day. Use toppings of your choice. I like shredded sharp cheddar and chopped onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      This was simple but for us it needed more tomato sauce. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I doulbed it. I thought the amount of chili powder was perfect but the rest of the family said that it could have been spicer and added hot sauce at the table. This also heated up well as I took it for lunches too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I had to change a lot to achieve the flavor I wanted, but it was a good start. I added more garlic, Worcestershire, sugar, potatoes, and beef bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      This recipe is great! Not overwhelming list of ingredients but all the important ones are there. We all tweak recipes a bit, but very little that I changed on this one. Made it a bit spicier and that's about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Very good chili recipe! I made it for my boyfriend who doesn't like chunks of tomatoes, so I substituted crushed tomatoes for the diced. I also added four prices of bacon, green pepper, a jalape?o, and used more chili powder and cumin than the recipe called for to give it additional flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Great chili, tasty & easy to make. I substituted sweet italian turkey sausage for the ground beef. Nice flavor boost and probably a little healthier to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      A good starter chili. Added more garlic and some ketchup. Very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    21%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 70.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 873.8 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites