184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i loooooved it. a simple rice usally complements it well but I made it with my special mac and cheese (layered and baked)and a carrot soufle. it was awesome. i've found that it tastes better with thighs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanada05 February 10, 2008

This is a really good, spicy-sweet juicy chicken. My marinade wasn't quite pourable - it was almost a paste. I followed the recipe exactly so I'm not sure if I used the wrong size dressing mix or what. I did substitute 1/2 tsp chipotle powder for the ground red pepper because I wasn't sure what it was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 27, 2008

UPDATE, Jan 24/'08: Made them last night (using chicken thighs again) but didn't cook them on the grill, this time I used a skillet pan (much to cold outside to grill) and they came out perfectly. I (mistakenly) added two teaspoons of cinnamon (never try to carry on a conversation while preparing a recipe) and decided to also add some sugar (about 1 tsp) this time which added a nice sweetness to the sauce. They were delicious! I made this recipe last night on the grill, using chicken thighs. I've never had Jerk chicken before so I can't vouch for the authenticity of the flavors but this recipe was delicious. I didn't have any ground red pepper so I substituted that with red pepper flakes. I only marinated them for an hour but they were tasty and very moist. I'll definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi January 24, 2008

Wonderful flavor!! This is a great dish to throw together for company! I have made it twice and the first time marinated two days (I forgot about it!) I made it on the stove in a fry pan as it's too cold right now to grill. I just dumped it in the pan and let simmer on low till done, very tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos January 23, 2008

This chicken is so very good! I didn't have thyme, so instead I added some italian spices. I absolutely loved the cinnamon flavor and couldn't imagine decreasing it. I was only making two large chicken breasts, but kept the amount of everything else the same and it made a nice drizzle for the rice I served under it (easy garlic rice #71739) and can't wait to make this again. I cooked the chicken in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Half way through I basted the chicken with the leftover marinade. Super tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey January 21, 2008

OMG.....I loved this dish. The simplicity of this with the flavor, makes this a winning recipe. I love jerk and this is a hit. I plan on making this tomorrow night again (I'm playing catch up on my reviews) served with rice and a veggie. Thank you for this great recipe.....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 08, 2008

This is great! I really was surprised at the flavor I got with sooooo little work! I served it with herbed cous-cous, black beans spiced with cumin and lime juice topped with diced tomatoes, and some steamed broccoli as sides. A hit! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartfood December 12, 2007

This recipe is the real thing! I was hesitant to use it because I couldn't find a comment about its authenticity.. but with so many good reviews I couldn't resist. And I'm so glad I did it because I was able to impress my Caribbean friends! Thanks, buttercup :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy lil chef December 10, 2007

This was definitely outstanding!! I've had this in my "chicken" cookbook for awhile, and just got around to trying it tonight. I was a bit nervous because the ingredients sounded all a bit "weird" together (like italian salad dressing mix with cinnamon, etc).. but WOW did these flavors blend PERFECT together. I followed recipe EXACTLY as stated. I marinated mine for a bit over 9 hours (started it after I fed our toddler breakfast, and started cooking when husband came home from work).. kind of cold here now, so I used my foreman grill (and I used thin cutlets).. cooked for about 7 minutes. YUM! I will most certainly serve this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErikaNY October 21, 2007
Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken