Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    183 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 183

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2008

      This is a really good, spicy-sweet juicy chicken. My marinade wasn't quite pourable - it was almost a paste. I followed the recipe exactly so I'm not sure if I used the wrong size dressing mix or what. I did substitute 1/2 tsp chipotle powder for the ground red pepper because I wasn't sure what it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      UPDATE, Jan 24/'08: Made them last night (using chicken thighs again) but didn't cook them on the grill, this time I used a skillet pan (much to cold outside to grill) and they came out perfectly. I (mistakenly) added two teaspoons of cinnamon (never try to carry on a conversation while preparing a recipe) and decided to also add some sugar (about 1 tsp) this time which added a nice sweetness to the sauce. They were delicious! I made this recipe last night on the grill, using chicken thighs. I've never had Jerk chicken before so I can't vouch for the authenticity of the flavors but this recipe was delicious. I didn't have any ground red pepper so I substituted that with red pepper flakes. I only marinated them for an hour but they were tasty and very moist. I'll definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Wonderful flavor!! This is a great dish to throw together for company! I have made it twice and the first time marinated two days (I forgot about it!) I made it on the stove in a fry pan as it's too cold right now to grill. I just dumped it in the pan and let simmer on low till done, very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This chicken is so very good! I didn't have thyme, so instead I added some italian spices. I absolutely loved the cinnamon flavor and couldn't imagine decreasing it. I was only making two large chicken breasts, but kept the amount of everything else the same and it made a nice drizzle for the rice I served under it (easy garlic rice #71739) and can't wait to make this again. I cooked the chicken in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Half way through I basted the chicken with the leftover marinade. Super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      OMG.....I loved this dish. The simplicity of this with the flavor, makes this a winning recipe. I love jerk and this is a hit. I plan on making this tomorrow night again (I'm playing catch up on my reviews) served with rice and a veggie. Thank you for this great recipe.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This is great! I really was surprised at the flavor I got with sooooo little work! I served it with herbed cous-cous, black beans spiced with cumin and lime juice topped with diced tomatoes, and some steamed broccoli as sides. A hit! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This recipe is the real thing! I was hesitant to use it because I couldn't find a comment about its authenticity.. but with so many good reviews I couldn't resist. And I'm so glad I did it because I was able to impress my Caribbean friends! Thanks, buttercup :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This was definitely outstanding!! I've had this in my "chicken" cookbook for awhile, and just got around to trying it tonight. I was a bit nervous because the ingredients sounded all a bit "weird" together (like italian salad dressing mix with cinnamon, etc).. but WOW did these flavors blend PERFECT together. I followed recipe EXACTLY as stated. I marinated mine for a bit over 9 hours (started it after I fed our toddler breakfast, and started cooking when husband came home from work).. kind of cold here now, so I used my foreman grill (and I used thin cutlets).. cooked for about 7 minutes. YUM! I will most certainly serve this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      I can't believe I'm never rated this yet! I've made it a few times and it has been a hit every time! So delicious and easy to make! MMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Very moist and the perfect amount of flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This was good, my fiance and i felt there was too much italian salad dressing mix, will try again using half as much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      This is very tasty! I used chicken tenders and broiled it in the oven, and it turned out great. I even only marinated the chicken for 20 minutes, and it was still delicious. Mmm, it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Very good! I took the suggestion of putting in a little less cinnamon and it was a perfect combination of heat and sweet. I made double to freeze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Excellent!! If your looking for an easy chicken recipe with lots of flavor then this is the one! I baked it in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This recipe ROCKS! so easy and so simple. We baked the chicken instead of grilling, and the only thing is next time i would like some more sauce to pour over the chicken, as it is soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Can't believe its taken me so long to rate this!! I LOVE it and so does everyone I make it for! The only change I make is to add cut up chicken breast fillets to the marinade, leave it whilst I'm out at work and then it cooks in about 25 minutes in a combination of oven/grill - thanks for such a fab recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Very quick and easy and all ingredients I had on hand, but the skin of the chicken burnt even over low heat on my grill. We had to peel off the skin which would have had all the flavor in it because it just tasted like charcoal. The meat itself was tender and juicy though and I still think we'll really like the flavor from the marinade if I can find a way to get it not to burn. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      This was very good. It had a light flavor that was very different. I do think I might have added too much cinnamon but, all in all, a very good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This is nothing like jerk chicken, but it was awesome. So juicy, so good. I could see this becoming a weekday bbq staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I like to try first-time recipes as they are, but another reviewer's wrap idea sounded interesting, so I opted to go that route. They were okay, but I think my family would have enjoyed the meat much more with no additions, to better savor the chicken's wonderful flavor. Thanks, princess buttercup--your recipe is great just as it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.0
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    63%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 417.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian salad dressing mix


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites