191 Reviews

We liked this. It does not taste like real jerk chicken--the flavor was not intense enough even after adding extra cayenne. Thanks for sharing. Donna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson May 27, 2010

This was very tasty. The flavor wasn't as intense as I would have liked, but that's probably due to not marinading it long enough. The only change I made was to double the recipe because I used a whole butterflied chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 May 22, 2010

This was okay for us. Not bad, but not great. To be fair, though, my husband's biggest issue was the texture of the chicken, so perhaps I just got the wrong brand/cut. The seasoning of the chicken was decent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa March 29, 2010

Very simple and delicious recipe! I've made this recipe several times and turns out yummy each time. I love it on the grill, but since it's winter I make it in the oven then broil the skin for a bit for to make it crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonN812 February 08, 2010

I have made this on the grill several times, and each time my family RAVES about it....A few weeks ago, my kids kept asking for it, and I grilled it 3 nights in a row! Wouldn't change anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsdnurse January 25, 2010

I changed too much to provide a star rating but thought my experience might be interesting to some. I used thighs and legs, 2 tblsp Mrs. Dash Garlic/Herb seasoning (no salt) instead of dry Italian Dressing package, used 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, and added a generous splash of Liquid Smoke (since not grilling). Marinated 5-1/2 hours, and baked at 375 for 45 minutes. It looked black (not burnt) but was nowhere near done. Stuck it on my George Foreman to speed things up. I thought it was tasty, but the family didn't like it because it was too spicy. While noticeable, I didn't feel the cinnamon was overpowering. The Liquid Smoke flavor was undetectable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef cmpinco January 06, 2010

My children love this chicken. I marinated the chicken for 3 hours, then grilled it on the George Foreman grill. Very tender and flavorful, and leftovers reheated beautifully! Reduced the red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon to make it more kid-friendly. I want to try the marinade on pork chops next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usknights December 29, 2009

Absolutely love this recipe! I am not sure how authentic it is but it has excellent flavor. Be careful about having the heat too high as the sauce can burn a little because of the brown sugar. I like to save some of the sauce or make extra to pour on after it is cooked too. Not very spice but delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanastown1 November 02, 2009

The chicken was flavorful (though if there were to be a next time I'd reduce the amount of cinnamon) and moist but didn't taste like jerk chicken in the slightest. We weren't impressed and probably won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos October 26, 2009

I have made this recipe several times for company and it always gets rave reviews - from those who love spicey food and those who do not. I make the recipe exactly as is. The cinnamon adds a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StillRiverCook October 11, 2009
Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken