184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good and simple chicken recipe, but it cannot truly be called "Caribbean Jerk Chicken" because it is missing about 10 different seasoning that truly make it "jerk". Without that seasoning, this is simply tasty spicy chicken that tastes nothing like jerk chicken. It is good nonetheless, just wanted to let anyone seeking authentic jerk chicken know that this is not going to taste like jerk chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samferg August 12, 2010

This was so easy and really good. I used boneless chicken breasts and let them sit in the marinade for 6 hours before grilling. I don't like cinnamon and was a little nervous about that, but it just gave the chicken a hint of sweetness...delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Absinthe27 August 03, 2010

We liked this. It does not taste like real jerk chicken--the flavor was not intense enough even after adding extra cayenne. Thanks for sharing. Donna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson May 27, 2010

This was very tasty. The flavor wasn't as intense as I would have liked, but that's probably due to not marinading it long enough. The only change I made was to double the recipe because I used a whole butterflied chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 May 22, 2010

Next time I will leave out the cinnamon cuz it gave the chicken a funky taste, but other than that it would have been good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeym April 02, 2010

This was okay for us. Not bad, but not great. To be fair, though, my husband's biggest issue was the texture of the chicken, so perhaps I just got the wrong brand/cut. The seasoning of the chicken was decent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa March 29, 2010

Very simple and delicious recipe! I've made this recipe several times and turns out yummy each time. I love it on the grill, but since it's winter I make it in the oven then broil the skin for a bit for to make it crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonN812 February 08, 2010

I have made this on the grill several times, and each time my family RAVES about it....A few weeks ago, my kids kept asking for it, and I grilled it 3 nights in a row! Wouldn't change anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsdnurse January 25, 2010

I changed too much to provide a star rating but thought my experience might be interesting to some. I used thighs and legs, 2 tblsp Mrs. Dash Garlic/Herb seasoning (no salt) instead of dry Italian Dressing package, used 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, and added a generous splash of Liquid Smoke (since not grilling). Marinated 5-1/2 hours, and baked at 375 for 45 minutes. It looked black (not burnt) but was nowhere near done. Stuck it on my George Foreman to speed things up. I thought it was tasty, but the family didn't like it because it was too spicy. While noticeable, I didn't feel the cinnamon was overpowering. The Liquid Smoke flavor was undetectable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef cmpinco January 06, 2010

My children love this chicken. I marinated the chicken for 3 hours, then grilled it on the George Foreman grill. Very tender and flavorful, and leftovers reheated beautifully! Reduced the red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon to make it more kid-friendly. I want to try the marinade on pork chops next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usknights December 29, 2009
Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken