Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    184 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 184

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2010

      This is a good and simple chicken recipe, but it cannot truly be called "Caribbean Jerk Chicken" because it is missing about 10 different seasoning that truly make it "jerk". Without that seasoning, this is simply tasty spicy chicken that tastes nothing like jerk chicken. It is good nonetheless, just wanted to let anyone seeking authentic jerk chicken know that this is not going to taste like jerk chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This was so easy and really good. I used boneless chicken breasts and let them sit in the marinade for 6 hours before grilling. I don't like cinnamon and was a little nervous about that, but it just gave the chicken a hint of sweetness...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      We liked this. It does not taste like real jerk chicken--the flavor was not intense enough even after adding extra cayenne. Thanks for sharing. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This was very tasty. The flavor wasn't as intense as I would have liked, but that's probably due to not marinading it long enough. The only change I made was to double the recipe because I used a whole butterflied chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Next time I will leave out the cinnamon cuz it gave the chicken a funky taste, but other than that it would have been good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This was okay for us. Not bad, but not great. To be fair, though, my husband's biggest issue was the texture of the chicken, so perhaps I just got the wrong brand/cut. The seasoning of the chicken was decent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Very simple and delicious recipe! I've made this recipe several times and turns out yummy each time. I love it on the grill, but since it's winter I make it in the oven then broil the skin for a bit for to make it crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I have made this on the grill several times, and each time my family RAVES about it....A few weeks ago, my kids kept asking for it, and I grilled it 3 nights in a row! Wouldn't change anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I changed too much to provide a star rating but thought my experience might be interesting to some. I used thighs and legs, 2 tblsp Mrs. Dash Garlic/Herb seasoning (no salt) instead of dry Italian Dressing package, used 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, and added a generous splash of Liquid Smoke (since not grilling). Marinated 5-1/2 hours, and baked at 375 for 45 minutes. It looked black (not burnt) but was nowhere near done. Stuck it on my George Foreman to speed things up. I thought it was tasty, but the family didn't like it because it was too spicy. While noticeable, I didn't feel the cinnamon was overpowering. The Liquid Smoke flavor was undetectable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      My children love this chicken. I marinated the chicken for 3 hours, then grilled it on the George Foreman grill. Very tender and flavorful, and leftovers reheated beautifully! Reduced the red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon to make it more kid-friendly. I want to try the marinade on pork chops next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Absolutely love this recipe! I am not sure how authentic it is but it has excellent flavor. Be careful about having the heat too high as the sauce can burn a little because of the brown sugar. I like to save some of the sauce or make extra to pour on after it is cooked too. Not very spice but delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      The chicken was flavorful (though if there were to be a next time I'd reduce the amount of cinnamon) and moist but didn't taste like jerk chicken in the slightest. We weren't impressed and probably won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times for company and it always gets rave reviews - from those who love spicey food and those who do not. I make the recipe exactly as is. The cinnamon adds a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Fantastic! Marinate overnight for the best flavor. I made this for a BBQ and it didn't last long. The next time another event rolled around, it was requested I bring this. Had to share the recipe with a 5 Star chef in town to boot! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Excellent! I marinated for 2 hours and grilled on my George Foreman Grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Great! My boyfriends kids and my cousin are very picky eaters and they ate the chicken without covering it up with bbq or ketchup! I'm making it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I used a little less cinnamon as suggested by Bobtail... The chicken was so flavorful and just spicy enough for us to make it interesting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! That's really all I can say. This is now our favorite chicken dish. My Hubby LOVES it, and so do the kids and I. I served it with Cilantro Rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Fantastic! Easy to prepare and delicious! I served over black beans and rice. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This was really good, and so easy to make! My husband grilled it, and we put it over rice. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.0
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    63%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 417.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian salad dressing mix


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes