190 Reviews

Wonderful flavor!! This is a great dish to throw together for company! I have made it twice and the first time marinated two days (I forgot about it!) I made it on the stove in a fry pan as it's too cold right now to grill. I just dumped it in the pan and let simmer on low till done, very tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos January 23, 2008

This chicken is so very good! I didn't have thyme, so instead I added some italian spices. I absolutely loved the cinnamon flavor and couldn't imagine decreasing it. I was only making two large chicken breasts, but kept the amount of everything else the same and it made a nice drizzle for the rice I served under it (easy garlic rice #71739) and can't wait to make this again. I cooked the chicken in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Half way through I basted the chicken with the leftover marinade. Super tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey January 21, 2008

OMG.....I loved this dish. The simplicity of this with the flavor, makes this a winning recipe. I love jerk and this is a hit. I plan on making this tomorrow night again (I'm playing catch up on my reviews) served with rice and a veggie. Thank you for this great recipe.....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 08, 2008

This is great! I really was surprised at the flavor I got with sooooo little work! I served it with herbed cous-cous, black beans spiced with cumin and lime juice topped with diced tomatoes, and some steamed broccoli as sides. A hit! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartfood December 12, 2007

This recipe is the real thing! I was hesitant to use it because I couldn't find a comment about its authenticity.. but with so many good reviews I couldn't resist. And I'm so glad I did it because I was able to impress my Caribbean friends! Thanks, buttercup :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy lil chef December 10, 2007

This was definitely outstanding!! I've had this in my "chicken" cookbook for awhile, and just got around to trying it tonight. I was a bit nervous because the ingredients sounded all a bit "weird" together (like italian salad dressing mix with cinnamon, etc).. but WOW did these flavors blend PERFECT together. I followed recipe EXACTLY as stated. I marinated mine for a bit over 9 hours (started it after I fed our toddler breakfast, and started cooking when husband came home from work).. kind of cold here now, so I used my foreman grill (and I used thin cutlets).. cooked for about 7 minutes. YUM! I will most certainly serve this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErikaNY October 21, 2007

I can't believe I'm never rated this yet! I've made it a few times and it has been a hit every time! So delicious and easy to make! MMM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mbloxus October 06, 2007

Very moist and the perfect amount of flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada September 22, 2007

This was good, my fiance and i felt there was too much italian salad dressing mix, will try again using half as much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t_ballet September 20, 2007

This is very tasty! I used chicken tenders and broiled it in the oven, and it turned out great. I even only marinated the chicken for 20 minutes, and it was still delicious. Mmm, it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver September 12, 2007
Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken