13 Reviews

Very good flavor, however a bit on the salty side. I used garlic salt, which I will substitute garlic powder next time. Also I think I will use a full 2 pounds of ground beef. This time I used a pound and a half. Hubby thought they were great. Much better than just plain hamburger I usually fix. I will definitely make these again.UPDATE: Made burgers again tonight. I used the garlic powder instead of garlic salt and they were much much better. Thanks foodlover for this recipe.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarynne May 23, 2002

Based on Tarynne's review, I used 2 lb. ground beef and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. These burgers were wonderful. They had a great savory onion flavor. Not too salty for us at all. This is a great full-flavored very easy to make burger. Thanks for posting this :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 08, 2002

We all loved these. I used 1 lb. of beef, and didn't add any garlic salt or onion flakes (just the soup mix & Worcestershire). They had the perfect texture, and the flavor was scrumptious! Oh, and I made 4 patties out of the mixture.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch November 26, 2002

I loved these burgers. What a wonderfully oniony taste. My son thought that they were a bit dry. They might appear a little dryer when you use extra lean ground beef like I did.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie j August 07, 2002

I didn't particularly care for these with or without a bun. Made with 2 lbs of ground beef and I used garlic salt, but I think what may have made a difference is that the onion soup mix I used was not name brand. The other people at the table said they liked it, but I didn't care for it at all. I hate giving less than four stars but I can't bring myself to give this that many.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis August 28, 2003

These are wonderful burgers. I did use 2lbs. of beef to make 8 patties. I also used garlic powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB April 08, 2003

This is probably my favorite burger recipe! I have followed it, and at times, I have substituted minced garlic instead of the powder. Thank you for such a delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicki0627 April 19, 2015

Really delicious, flavorful burgers! I made the burgers as posted using 2 pounds of beef and it really is very simple to throw together. We'll be having these many times this summer. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook May 12, 2009

We liked these very much. So fast and easy. Will make these again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 25, 2006

Made these today for my dh & I for 4th of July. We really enjoyed them. Only change I made was to add a clove of garlic. Thanks so much for sharing! We will have these again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach July 04, 2006
Simple Burgers