Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Brown Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Brown Gravy

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2012

      I needed gravy for leftover roast beef and this was perfect. Be careful not to use rounded tablespoons of beef bouillion, as I did, because it will be salty. I used cornstarch for thickener because I love the shiny, silkiness of cornstarch. I will keep this recipe for many occasions, this is very good and easy! Thanks, Cypress.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Simply a great recipe, definitely one of the best that I've tried. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      I ran out of leftover gravy for my leftover meat pie and this super easy recipe did the trick. So easy to make and much better for me than canned gravy. Thanks for posting Cypress. Made for Pick A Chef Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Great recipe. Easy and inexpensive, but a bit too salty. I used Herbox bouillon, which has 28% sodium. I will look for bouillon with a lower sodium content. For the thickener, I used 2 TBS flour and 4 TBS cold water, shaken in a jar and slowly added it to the boiling broth. Next, I am am going to try substituting the 2 C of water, with 2 C of low sodium canned beef broth, and skip the bouillon altogether.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      This worked out real well. I've never made gravy before without using the drippings. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I used the cornstarch option and Worcestershire sauce instead of Kitchen Bouquet (I never have Kitchen Bouquet). So fast and easy! Thank you, I'll make it again. It would be even better with good chicken or beef broth instead of the beef bouillion granules I used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Thank you Cypress (and love the name) Finally!! A gravy my picky husband liked! I used 3 packets of Swanson Beef Flavor Boost because I did not have bouillon. Also I used 1/2 the garlic simply because he thinks he doesn't like garlic. At first I used two packets of flavor Boost and thought it tasted nice and light, then he tasted it and said,"It's getting there but needs more flavor." So I added the third. And he finally ate gravy at home. About the sixth try. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Perfect night for meatloaf and thought how 'bout brown gravy. Given all things I make and have made, never a brown gravy. What's that?! Ridiculous I say. This was so easy, convenient and delicious. The only substitution was Wostershire Sauce instead of Kitchen Bouquet (didn't have this). Just too pleasant and yummy over great meat. I like easy and uncomplicated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Brown Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.9
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    79%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 38.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kitchen Bouquet

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites