15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmmmmm....Bar wings at home! We've been looking for a recipe for crispy wings, and this is it! The added bonus is fat IS actually drawn out instead of being added through deep-frying. We enjoyed them so much that we are whipping up another batch today. I'd like to try them with buffalo sauce or Jack Daniel's sauce too. Thank you so much for sharing this...it will be our "go to"
recipe for wings. We eat them at least once a week, so this is a real treasure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christmas Carol December 08, 2010

This was very good. My biggest regret is that I didn't make a double or even quadruple batch. I'm not much of a wing connoisseur - I just eat them when I get a chance; and since I'm an intermediate cook, I don't think I'd ever prepared wings before this. I thought the same thing as in the description: this is more of a method than a recipe; but it's an effective method, I think. I don't think I've ever used my broiler (don't know why I'm leery of using it). It gives me a choice of high and low, and I chose "high". I peeked at the wings at 5 minutes, and opted to go the full 10 minutes on each side. Aside from that, I made it exactly as written. I agree that the boiling and then the broiling get rid of a lot of fat. (I, too, used parchment paper in the oven, on top of a jelly-roll pan). I patted the wings with paper towels to remove any excess grease, as suggested, and there was very little left to remove. The wings were beautifully browned and crispy. One minor complaint is that the amount of barbecue sauce was a little too much, I thought - 1/3 cup would probably be plenty. Oh, and this really should be called "Simple Boil and Broil [not Bake] Crispy Chicken Wings". But overall, this is a great, easy recipe, and I hope I make it again soon - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spooty3 May 01, 2010

This method worked perfectly for me. With my oven, I needed about 10 minutes per side to get the wings crispy. I used some honey BBQ sauce with added Tabasco sauce for a little heat. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue April 10, 2010

They came out of the oven perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acaskew February 17, 2010

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!! I love chicken wings...when crispy and whole; like the restaurants...and I have tried every recipe I could find to make them "right". I always ended up with wings that were torn apart because they stuck to the frying pan or baking pan or are "soft" (not crispy) wings because I didn't want to leave them too long enough because they would stick. I'm happy to say that your method is amazing(ly simple)!!!! Tonight I made the best wings ever!!! I made honey garlic wings but the method works for any type of wings you could imagine. PS...this is my FIRST review of any recipe on any site EVER..but so worth it!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
venushajdler March 02, 2009

I broiled mine for quite a while turning once and then brushed alittle BBQ sauce on them. After putting them back in the oven on a lower rack for 5-10 minutes, they came out tasting like they had been deep fried and prepared at a sports bar! Crispy and juicy!!!!! Such a simple idea with amazing results! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gin Gin October 18, 2008

The boiling worked great and the wings were fully cooked through. I used my own sauce and this is the method I will use from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudpie February 22, 2014

Awwwwesome ;-)) sprinkled with seas salt, garlic sprinkle...yummmmmyy!!! always wondered how to keep my wings juicy inside and crispy outside, no frying. My kids are going to give Mommy big hugs. They love chicken wings ;-))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommiesCookin November 09, 2011

I thought this worked out real well, my only problem was I should have used a lower rack when I broiled them. at 5 min the Teriyaki Sauce started to burn and yes I set the smoke alarm off too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetsleden November 03, 2011

It was a bit of work to boil them first but very much worth it. Very tender on the inside and crispy on the outside. I used a hot wing sauce on some and a sweet bbq on the rest. Everyone was happy. Making them this weekend for friends I should get rave reviews from them!!!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassyfras July 14, 2011
Simple Boil and Bake Crispy Chicken Wings