Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Beef Stock a La Julia Child Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Beef Stock a La Julia Child

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2013

      This is my go-to beef stock recipe. I do brown the bones and veggies, and I let it simmer 4-5 hours, at least. Then I freeze it in pints so that it's available whenever I need it.<br/><br/>My French chef son-in-law LOVES this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I am positive that Julia does brown the bones. I was recently watching an episode that she mentioned her beef stock.
      I have recently looked this up as well, most recipes call for browning the vegetable and beef bones.
      ... I have not made this recipe, just thought you all should know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      used this for making french onion soup tonight, and its the nastiest stuff we have ever had the misfortune to come across.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I had some soup bones in the freezer from our beef and I decieded to try your recipe for a beef stew later this week. This smelled so good cooking all day I was ready to get a cup and pour some in it. I can't wait for the stew later this week. This is a very good broth and I am going to make it again with the rest of the soup bones in the freezer. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      This does make an excellent stock. I differ with our dear Julia's method in that I always brown the bones by either baking or on the stove top. This allows for a beautiful dark brown stock.To make sure I get all of the marrow out I ask the butcher to give the bones a good crack.I have canned this stock and always have it on hand.I also save the fat; it has multiple uses that can enhance other dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      I am enjoying the tutorials on stock making in the french forum so much. Your clear step by step instructions and chia's photos of the process make for a wonderful experience and I always learn something. Thank you both for taking the time to do this!!! The resulting stock was terrific. I think it is the best beef stock I have ever made. I skimmed more often than normal and it made a huge difference. The seasoning was perfect too. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      kate and i cooked this together for the french forum. this recipe is very easy to prepare and makes a wonderful stock. i refrigerated it overnight, removed the fat layer and used it to make beef bourguignon. excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      Fantastic, Kate! Thanks again for the great instructions. Kudos to Chia for photography... I can't wait for the next lesson; we are going to be sooooo good... (LOL)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Beef Stock a La Julia Child

    Serving Size: 1 (710 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    30%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 133.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef bones

    thyme

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites