Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Bean Soup With Ham Bone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Bean Soup With Ham Bone

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2013

      This was so easy and sooooo good! I used a 20 oz bag of Hurst's HamBeens 15 bean blend, added 2 peeled, diced potatoes and threw in some extra ham chunks at the end. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious!! I did it a little differently, as I cooked the beans in plain water until they were fairly soft. I then drained them, added the other ingredients and cooked for another hour or so. I also used chicken broth in place of the water and it turned out spectacular! I am having left-overs tonight as we speak. Bill, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      This soup is the best! Simple and cheap to make...best way to use your leftover ham bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I made this recipe the day after Easter Sunday (4/25/11) because I had a meaty ham bone leftover. I followed the recipe exactly as it was presented and the soup was excellent and super yummy! I also felt good about the nutrition in it with the good carbs, protein and relatively low fat and calorie content. The soup had just a hint of clove flavor, because that's how my ham was originally seasoned when I baked it. That little hint of clove made it even better. The next time I make this soup, I will add some ground clove to the seasoning step if the ham is not already seasoned with it. Bravo, Bill! ~The Mad Slovak~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Made this using the leftover ham bone from Christmas dinner. Very simple to make and tasted wonderful. Only made one minor change to the recipe which was to use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. The soup did come out a bit salty. I did not add any salt to the pot so I might try using water next time to see if it comes out less salty. I did use low sodium broth. Even with it being salty it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I am really disappointed. I found little flavor and will not make it again.<br/>barbara

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      My beans seemed cooked after two hours, but it wasn't the soup it would be in another two hours. It was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I made this with Christmas left over ham. I used great northern beans, instead of navy beans. They're much larger. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I made for my family for dinner one night but due to a family emergency with my husbands grandpa was asked to bring it over to my husbands aunt's. We did kind of a impromptu potluck with all of my husbands family. Everyone raved about this saying it is like grandmas , or just like I remember when I was little etc...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This soup was great! Thanks for posting. My family met for the new year and had a ham dinner. The following day, we found this recipe to use the hambone and everyone agrees it was the best bean soup anyone had! As you said, it was basic, but it was a wonderful soup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      is the soaking (overnight or quick) part of this recipe (instruction 1)? I quick soaked mine first. left my bean about falling apart by veggie time. and next time i'll add the salt slowly. I used half and it was delicious however very salty, i probably used too little water(,y fault). this was simple, delicious, reminds me of my dad's winters ago. thank you thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This is an easy and very good soup. Will never give away or throw out a ham bone again. So good the next day! Thanks for posting...Marg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      It is not often that one has a meaty ham bone on hand I suppose, however, I had one leftover from the holidays that I had in the freezer. For this recipe "simple" is excellent! I made this soup exactly as written except for a sprinkling of grated Parmesan on top per serving. It tasted great but even better after it settled in the refrigerator and reheated. Bill, it may be "simple" but really good. It is comfort food without a lot of calories. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Excellent as described: EASY BUT GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Bean Soup With Ham Bone

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    16%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1048.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites