24 Reviews

I had really hoped that I would like this, but it was so extremely salty I threw the entire batch away. If I made again, I would not use any salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 February 20, 2008

Wonderful recipe!! I took your advice and cut the seasonings in half and left the salt out completely, and this turned out perfect! Baked it in a toaster oven for a total of 30 min, flipping halfway through. Thank you for posting this, it's a keeper! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laeana February 14, 2010

I love this tofu recipe and have now tried it a couple times. I had never marinated or baked tofu before, and I really have enjoyed the results. I always omit the salt in the recipe as it definitely doesn't need it. The first time, I marinated for an hour and baked as in the instructions. It turned out very well and added a great flavor to the stir fry I used it in. Today, I used the recipe for the marinade and grilled the tofu in large strips. This created a great flavor. I plan to use this recipe again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATouchofZing March 29, 2009

Edible but not enjoyable. I didn't put the salt in because of the other reviews and it was still salty (which isn't bad). When I opened the oven to turn it made my eyes water. It just wasn't a very good taste and putting it on the cooling rack didn't drain the tofu anymore than normal. I think this recipe is for seasoned tofu lovers only.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FranniePants November 28, 2008

Tasty and very flavorful. I left out the salt and it was a good thing too, cause it was plenty salty without it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood January 30, 2008

This was really good and I loved baking it instead of frying - my fave fried tofu has double the calories! I left out the salt all together and used low sodium soy sauce. DH Loved it. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RZ Fan December 01, 2007

way too much salt, did not work at all for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bur0203 November 10, 2010

Sorry - I didn't care for this. Are you sure it shouldn't be a teaspoon of garlic powder and ginger, instead of a tablespoon? I do like the idea of baking this on a rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea May 03, 2010

Based on other reviewers suggestions, I did not add the salt, and am very glad I didn't, because it did turn out pretty salt (but still very delicious). I will definitely make this again and will use a reduced sodium soy sauce in addition to leaving out the salt. I agree with others that this method of baking tofu is excellent. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. November 10, 2008

This is such a great marinade! I use it for myself, so for a single serving of tofu (about 1/4 package) I use 1 tablespoon each of the soy sauce and vinegar. I omitted the olive oil and it was not missed and also used reduced sodium olive oil .I let it marinate in the fridge for a couple hours and it makes bland tofu taste MUCH better. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenKelly April 21, 2008
Simple Baked Tofu