14 Reviews

This was enjoyed very much with black bean burgers. I used half a large avocado and will reduce the lime juice next time to about 2 tablespoons. It has a wonderful blending of flavors. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 01, 2010

Excellent! My girfriend's daughter helped me prepare this while the 3 of us were on vacation in Florida, and it was so easy to whip together and the resulting salsa was wonderful. We did find we liked it better after it had sat in the fridge for a while; the flavour and consistency definitely improved after it spent several hours undisturbed. We wished we had added some fresh cilantro to this; it was the only change/addition we would suggest. A definite make-again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie August 29, 2005

Absolutely FABULOUS!! All of my favorite ingredients in one! Except ... I didn't have a lime (I ALWAYS have a fridge full of limes; I don't know what happened... brain fart). So I used 2 tablespoons of orange juice and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead, and it was really, really good. I think it must have given the salsa the "sweet" that other reviewers were talking about. I ate about half of it for dinner one night, then had some for lunch the next day (and the avocados didn't discolor much at all). I ate all of the avocados out of the lunch portion, then gave the boyfriend the mango-tomato "remains" which he happily finished off! (He doesn't like avocados.) An excellent recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie March 03, 2004

Bravo!!! Very refreshing and tasty! I did not seed the pepper and that gave it a nice heat that we enjoy. Also if you find yourself with a mango that is not as ripe as you would like ( as I did) put a package of splenda in there and it gives it just the right amount of sweetness to balance out the heat. I think a little cilantro would work nicely too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff February 29, 2004

This just didn't work for any of us tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 09, 2003

This is what I describe as a classic salsa. The flavors marry very well, and it has that fresh, light texture that you are looking for when using fruit in a salsa. It was easy to prepare, and the directions were easy to follow. It made a wonderful backdrop for grilled pork chops. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 21, 2011

This was great. I didn't have lime juice so I used lemon and I didn't have jalapeno so I used a little Tabasco. I'll definitely have to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarefootandpregnantintheKitchen December 03, 2009

I've made this once before and my friends were scraping the bottom of the bowl to get the last bits. 10 on a 10 scale!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris in Sarasota February 16, 2009

I'm very pleased with the flavor of this. I enjoyed this with plain pita chips as I found tortilla chips to overpower the flavor of the salsa. I plan to serve it over salmon tonight if I don't eat it all before the fish arrives. Due to the amount of chopping & dicing it took me more like 15-20 minutes to prepare. Oh- I did add cilantro which I would definately do again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggienut May 14, 2008

delicious. no doubt about its five stars. i added cayenne pepper to kick up the spice. this one went right onto my blog.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veegkitchen57 March 13, 2008
Simple Avocado-Mango Salsa