Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Apple Fritters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Apple Fritters

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      My students tried this recipe for an art fair at our school. Here are some of their comments. "They were good." - Andrew "They were excellent." -Kathryn "They were crunchy." -Storm "They were the best things I've ever tried." -Justin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Yum! We had these for dessert last night, with vanilla ice cream. They were so quick and easy to make. We rolled ours in sugar. I think next time I will double the recipe, maybe even sub bananas for the apples. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Not bad! The first batch I followed the directions as is and the batter was very thick, and it took some playing with heat settings to prevent from having them burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. Everyone liked them but they piled on the powdered sugar and maple syrup, so the second time I added 1/2c milk, 4 tbsp sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/4tsp nutmeg and I chopped the apples in my processor with a tbsp of orange juice. Everyone raved about the second batch! Will definitely be again with the revisions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Outstanding! My first time making any kind of fritters. Super easy and quick recipe. I followed it very close except I coated the apples with mixture of cinnamon and sugar for more of that "apple pie" taste. Cooking took only about two minutes per side. Finger licking good :) I can't wait to try them with some bananas as well.
      My hubby has a huge sweet tooth and he was over the moon about these fritters. Thank you Gingerbee for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Easy and good with light apple flavor. Like a lot of other people I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. I grated my apple which made about a cup, but would try to add a second apple next time for more apple flavor. I used a tsp size cookie scoop to drop the batter into a deep fryer and it made about 40 donut hole size fritters. I tried to use a tbsp scoop but it took a long time to get the middles to cook. Kids and I just scarfed them down for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Very simple - and very yummy! The texture of the fritter is bready, it's soft and fluffy inside with a nice smooth crispy outside. I cubed my apples pretty chunky and added 1/2 teaspoon on cinnamon to the batter. We dusted with powdered sugar after they cooled a bit - definately a dessert type treat for us. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2014

      I made this and it was great. Not too sweet...just right. Also, I had everything on hand so no going to the store necessary. I may have put in more than the required amount of apple. I didn't measure it. I just used 2 smallish apples. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      These were so easy to make! I added some brown sugar and a little cinnamon. They were delicious. I also used the powdered sugar. I couldn't stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Needs more milk! I had 1 1/2 times the chopped apple from just one apple, so I used it all. Deep fried at 350* and they flipped themselves, almost continually, as they browned. Cook way longer than donuts. I got 25 ping-pong ball sized (or better) fritters, and they were great after shaking with cinnamon sugar. If I were going to use p.sugar instead of c. sugar I would definitely add cinnamon & nutmeg to the apples. There was great apple flavor & they're very moist and YUMMY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      AWFUL DISAPPOINTMENT
      I was looking for an apple fritter NOT apple pancake goo. This recipe ended up in the garbage and I had to clean up a huge mess for nothing. This is NOT what I consider an apple fritter, a true apple fritter must have that bumpy, craggly surface, and they needed to be covered in that barely sheer glaze that grabs hold of every bump, nook and cranny. This was more like egg fu yung.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      These were simple to make. I had half of an apple left from another meal and needed to use it. My mom is terrible at eating fruit but loves bread and sweets. I hated the thought of that bland apple (it wasn't the best apple) and dough so I added cinnamon to the mix. Some of my fritters were moderately sized but the dough cooked perfectly and the crunch was great. I'll be making this again but might tweak it some more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Love these! A few modifications I made are to add one scoop of apple sauce per batch, some grated cinnamon, and a capful of vanilla extract. Wait and add powdered sugar after they cool. Also, if you have an electric fryer with a temperature guide, I set it at 360 degrees for about 90 seconds on each side or until golden brown. They will flip on their own when one side is browned, so keep an eye on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Delicious. I added 1 Tablespoon more sugar, 3/4 tsp. cinnamon and sprinkled some cinnamon in the chopped apples. I also drizzled them with a glaze of powdered sugar mixed with some vanilla creamer. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      These are excellent, and my kids just love them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      These were excellent! I coated the apples with cinnamon and added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Very good! I made my apple chunks a little too big, but it still fried well. I used a deep fryer instead of a skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I was craving apple fritters and these were AMAZING. I did add 1 tbsp of cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg for that "apple pie" flavor. My son ate 5 in one sitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Great recipe. I had these as a kid and didn't know they were so easy to make. Next time I would use more apples (Maybe 3 or 4) and make the chunks bigger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was a great addition to our pork meal. These were very easy to make and had good flavor. I may add more apple next time. Would also be great as a dessert or breakfast. May try it with banana for a Cajun dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Can't believe I forgot to rate these!! Made for a treat for Dh and the kids. Got on here today to look up the recipe again and saw that I hadn't rated. These are SOOOOO good. Easy to make and a delicious little treat. I made the recipe and did half of it one day and the other half the next. The batter was still really good the next day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Apple Fritters

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 680.1
     
    Calories from Fat 511
    75%
    Total Fat 56.7 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 49.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 310.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes