30 Reviews

My students tried this recipe for an art fair at our school. Here are some of their comments. "They were good." - Andrew "They were excellent." -Kathryn "They were crunchy." -Storm "They were the best things I've ever tried." -Justin

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer Kahly May 13, 2002

Yum! We had these for dessert last night, with vanilla ice cream. They were so quick and easy to make. We rolled ours in sugar. I think next time I will double the recipe, maybe even sub bananas for the apples. Thanks for a great recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela July 25, 2002

Not bad! The first batch I followed the directions as is and the batter was very thick, and it took some playing with heat settings to prevent from having them burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. Everyone liked them but they piled on the powdered sugar and maple syrup, so the second time I added 1/2c milk, 4 tbsp sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/4tsp nutmeg and I chopped the apples in my processor with a tbsp of orange juice. Everyone raved about the second batch! Will definitely be again with the revisions. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AthenaML November 03, 2009

Outstanding! My first time making any kind of fritters. Super easy and quick recipe. I followed it very close except I coated the apples with mixture of cinnamon and sugar for more of that "apple pie" taste. Cooking took only about two minutes per side. Finger licking good :) I can't wait to try them with some bananas as well.
My hubby has a huge sweet tooth and he was over the moon about these fritters. Thank you Gingerbee for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Asha* October 25, 2010

Easy and good with light apple flavor. Like a lot of other people I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. I grated my apple which made about a cup, but would try to add a second apple next time for more apple flavor. I used a tsp size cookie scoop to drop the batter into a deep fryer and it made about 40 donut hole size fritters. I tried to use a tbsp scoop but it took a long time to get the middles to cook. Kids and I just scarfed them down for breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandc88 March 21, 2010

Very simple - and very yummy! The texture of the fritter is bready, it's soft and fluffy inside with a nice smooth crispy outside. I cubed my apples pretty chunky and added 1/2 teaspoon on cinnamon to the batter. We dusted with powdered sugar after they cooled a bit - definately a dessert type treat for us. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish March 05, 2003

We made apple fritters every fall for many years when our kids were young. This is close to the fritter recipe we remember. We doubled the amount of milk that the recipe called for to 2/3rd cup to make a batter that is like a thick pancake batter. After the first batch we increased the apples to a cup and a half instead of the one cup. Rather than adding teaspoon of batter for each fritter we use a tablespoon. With a couple tweaks of the recipe, the result is a perfect fritter. Friends and family raved about them. I do not believe adding more spices can make them tastier than they are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duanefa October 21, 2015

Easy and yummy! Doesn't take long at all to prep and cook. I added cinnamon to both the batter and dusting sugar and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erica H. October 13, 2015

I gave a four star rating only because I think fritters should have cinnamon. Otherwise these are very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frank O. September 14, 2015

I used this recipe as a base to make sourdough apple fritters, so my review is based more on its adaptability then the recipe as written and this recipe was easy to adapt. I added 1 cup of active sourdough starter to the wet ingredients and used 3 apples - 2 granny smith and 1 gala. I'd meant to add cinnamon but I forgot. The process of frying them turned out a lot easier and quicker than I'd expected. I used a tablespoon and a half cookie dough scooper and that worked out really well. I didn't get the outside very crispy, but that could have been because the dough was thin. Next time I'll add more flour to soak up the liquid in the starter. Still we all thought these turned out really well and are enjoying them this afternoon! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha May 17, 2015
Simple Apple Fritters