Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple and Yummy Blueberry Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple and Yummy Blueberry Scones

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2003

      These were really yummy, I had to use another 1/4 cup of milk to even get them to start coming together. That may have been the dryness in Colorado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      These were just okay for me. The scones were a bit dry and crumbly, I did add extra milk to moisten the dough. This is probably a good recipe to introduce people to making scones, but I think there are better recipes out there. This just wasn't a memorable recipe for me. I doubt I would use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I actually didn't find these scones sweet enough for me. I substituted blackberries instead of blueberries and used whole wheat flour, but maybe I didn't put enough sugar on top - they tasted a little too bland, but this might've been my fault with my substitutions. Won't be too bad with butter and jam though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Fantastic! I'd been craving scones, but didn't have a few key ingredients on hand. Nevertheless, I ended up with really great scones. I substituted margarine for the butter, dried cherries for the blueberries (although next time I'll rehydrate them) and omitted the allspice. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla to the milk to make an even half cup. Could probably use more vanilla this way, though. Next time I'll try them with blueberries--although maybe not; I'm really enjoying the cherries. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Wonderful! I didn't have cream so I brushed the tops with some melted butter and I added more berries too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      This is the first time I've tried making scones and I thought they turned out fantastic! I did make some minor changes, as follows: 1. 1/8 tsp salt (instead of a dash) 2. dark brown sugar (instead of white) 3. buttermilk (rather than white), started with 1/2 cup but then added more to make the dough 4. 1 cup blueberries 5. nothing on top These were excellent! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      These were incredibly easy! I don't know why I always thought making scones would be tricky! I used frozen berries, and they turned out great. I cooked them on parchment paper. In fact, I pressed the dough out right on the paper, so I didn't have to worry about sliding it on to the pan. I didn't get it into a 10" circle, though. More like 8 1/2". So they took 25 minutes to cook. I checked after 15, added 5, then added 5 more minutes, till the center didn't look "wet" anymore. They were not dry at all, like most scones, I've had. The allspice gave a really nice flavor, but didn't overpower. Just enough. They mix up very quickly. I didn't use a pastry blender, I prefer to use my hands for that step. I think the most important thing, like you said, is not to overwork the dough. It looks like it won't come together, but if you get your hands in the dough, it makes all the difference. Thanks l4c! I'll make these again. And again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      I found this to be heavy and bland even with extra butter and twice the sugar and some cinnamon added. I even added some pecans for crunch but it did not help either. Sorry, I did not care for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Great recipe. I had to also use frozen berries, they worked great. I actually chilled my butter first, then cut it in with a pastry blender. I used cinnamon sugar to sprinkle on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Who would have thought that making tasty scones would be this easy?! These are a wonderful addition to the cookbook and you can make them in no time. We had to use frozen blueberries both times we've made them so far (it was winter and fresh berries weren't available)- but spring is here and soon fresh organic blueberries will be available - can only imagine how yummier they will be. These were easy to make and tasty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This makes delicious scones. I had no heavy cream, so I brushed the tops with Praline & Creme coffee creamer. Also, I had no allspice, so I used cinnamon and nutmeg, instead. The dough was sticky and made a 8 1/2 inch disk, not a 10 inch disk, which yielded 7 scones, not 10, so I'd recommend using about 1/4 cup more milk. I baked for 16 minutes. This is NOT a sugary scone at all, so if you like sugar, I'd be liberal when sprinkling sugar on the tops. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      so very easy- start to finish, 30 mins! I love recipes with ingredients I'm likely to have on hand, this was perfect. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I made these with wheat free flour and extra milk and baking powder. They turnd out great. Only problem is the kids want to eat them!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      Really excellent delicious scones and as stated very simple and quick, for unexpected guests. With blueberry sauce, they were quite impressive. I did increase the blueberries to one cup and didn't have to use extra milk, (I used 2%milk), also used milk to brush on top and splenda instead of sugar. They were wonderful and enjoyed by all. I will be making these again. Thanks for a good dare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple and Yummy Blueberry Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.4
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    34%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 16.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 171.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites