22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Manda- you rock! I'm trying to be better about eating breakfast and so was searching Zaar for some low cal possibilities. First came across your banana-peanutbutter-blast (very good), now this- wonderful! I love oatmeal, but get tired of eating it the same way, this was a delightful alternative. Next, your Cottage Cheese Banana Breakfast Delite...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex December 11, 2002

I had this for breakfast this morning and it was delicious. I will definately make this one again. I didn't add any sweetener to mine and served it with a dash of skim milk on top. Had a lovely banana almondy flavour.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! October 20, 2002

Well, the secret might have been in the extract, but even after a substitution with vanilla extract, this was absolutely wonderful! I'm not usually a big fan of oats, but I loved this dish... I think I like oats coarse too! I used 1 tablespoon of sugar. I think I might buy some almond extract just for this! The directions of this recipe are perfect, and I love that it's a 1-serving recipe. Somehow cook times always have to be altered while scaling recipes, and I do a LOT of that. Thanks Manda, this one's for keeps!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu October 05, 2002

This is a quick, simple and nutritious breakfast. It was way too watery for me. I would us half the amount of water next time or lowfat milk. I used honey instead of sweetener and added some chopped walnuts. Loved the almond extract, Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 15, 2014

This is great and easy! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolover January 03, 2014

i'm not a fan of oatmeal outside of cookie form. I had to give it a try, and it was okay. I used real sugar- and much more than a pack. I was happy with the Almond aroma from the extract, and the banana's did everything they could. All in all, it was okay. I'd use milk in preparation next time, and probably try throwing on honey instead of artificial sweetener/sugar. If there is a next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WuhanNoodle June 21, 2010

Very good and easy to make. I used milk instead of water (personal preference) and only used one cup due to others reviews. I used vanilla extract instead of almond as that is all I had. I used a small whole banana and a pinch of Splenda brown sugar blend. My son and I enjoyed this. I cooked it for two minutes in the microwave. I think this makes a lot for one person. My son ate all his but I have some for tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 12, 2010

It was really good (we totally ran out... and should have made more) but I think the water/oatmeal ratio gets messed up if you multiply the recipe. It was REALLY watery. Add less water if you make more than one serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbow.rubatino March 25, 2009

Used whole milk and added a bit of butter to fatten it up for my skinny toddler and he LOVED it. I did too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thevioletpear April 08, 2008

Very tasty way to eat oatmeal! I mixed all the ingredients the night before in a bowl, with the very ripe mashed banana and put in the frig. The next morning just added a little more water to get the consistency I liked (the oatmeal absorbs the liquid while sitting overnight) and put in the microwave for about 3 minutes. Letting the oats soak overnight softens them up but they are not mush. Oh, I used old fashion oats, not quick-cooking as that is the kind I always use and have in the pantry. No pans to wash up and cooks very quickly. I loved your seasoning in this oatmeal Manda. Thanks for a new way to serve it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy January 22, 2008
Simple and Quick Banana Cinnamon Oatmeal