Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple and Healthy Poached Salmon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple and Healthy Poached Salmon

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2009

      This came out great and is a really nice and quick method. I used a large fillet and found the three minutes spot on although I do prefer my salmon lightly cooked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I loved this.. DH liked it less.. it will definiately make a massive difference to the flavour if you have wild salmon to hand or farmed, and in a recipe where ALL the flavour needs to come from the fish, wild can not be beaten. DH often remarks of salmon recipes that he wants to taste the fish and not the "extras" on it so much so this should have been right up his street.. but we did have farmed salmon so he said there wasn't enough flavour. Please see my Rating System: I liked the simplicity and that fact that this has no added sugar, syrup etc, but I'm looking at it from a more critical health point of view than DH because I'm trying to shed some unwanted kgs. Like others who reviewed this I looked at the cooking time and increased it as well, but our pieces were also quite thick so I think I added about 10 minutes boiling time ( carefully turned the packages over half way though) and I was delighted to find that it was perfectly cooked though and not dry at all. I will endevour to find wild salmon for this recipe and I will certainly be making it again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Easy, fast, and very tasty. One kid said - I don't like fish, but I'm enjoying this. Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Made this as written, though I had a couple lemons that I squeezed the juice from. The simplicity was a plus, though maybe the extras not included was a nice change, having for of a fish flavor, and the lemon giving this a subtle flavor flavor. Tagged and made in Pick a Chef 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I have used this recipe twice, and I definitely will be using it again and again! I, too, found the foil to be a bit different since I'm used to poaching directly in the liquid, but I actually found the salmon to be more moist when cooked in the foil. I used garlic salt, crushed garlic, a squeeze of lemon, and freshly ground black pepper as seasonings for the second time since the first time (with just the salt and pepper) seemed kind of bland. I also had to modify the simmering time because my fillets were rather thick, and I'm kind of squeamish about raw salmon (except when it's sushi ^_^)...I actually simmered mine for 8 minutes. The skin pulled away easily, and the fish flaked nicely. I may use this recipe to create a salmon salad, kind of like tuna, that I can use for lunches or snacks. Thank you for an awesome recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I was intrigued by this recipe because of cooking the salmon in a packet. I was apprehensive though over the short cooking time and do confess to leaving it longer. I am very squeamish about undercooked fish. The fish I pulled out after the longer time was overdone, but I ate it happily. Next time I will follow the directions for my hubsands pkt. I used lemon pepper and the flavor was nice with additional lemon wedges at the table. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      My salmon was perfectly cooked. Used this method to cook salmon I'm going to be using in some salad recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      So simple and so delicious. The salmon was sprinkled with lemon pepper and the packets were cooked in the rice cooker/steamer for a quick dinner with minimal clean-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple and Healthy Poached Salmon

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.1
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    31%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 146.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 393.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 65.2 g
    130%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites