8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This came out great and is a really nice and quick method. I used a large fillet and found the three minutes spot on although I do prefer my salmon lightly cooked.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J February 19, 2009

I loved this.. DH liked it less.. it will definiately make a massive difference to the flavour if you have wild salmon to hand or farmed, and in a recipe where ALL the flavour needs to come from the fish, wild can not be beaten. DH often remarks of salmon recipes that he wants to taste the fish and not the "extras" on it so much so this should have been right up his street.. but we did have farmed salmon so he said there wasn't enough flavour. Please see my Rating System: I liked the simplicity and that fact that this has no added sugar, syrup etc, but I'm looking at it from a more critical health point of view than DH because I'm trying to shed some unwanted kgs. Like others who reviewed this I looked at the cooking time and increased it as well, but our pieces were also quite thick so I think I added about 10 minutes boiling time ( carefully turned the packages over half way though) and I was delighted to find that it was perfectly cooked though and not dry at all. I will endevour to find wild salmon for this recipe and I will certainly be making it again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 30, 2008

Easy, fast, and very tasty. One kid said - I don't like fish, but I'm enjoying this. Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc August 02, 2013

Made this as written, though I had a couple lemons that I squeezed the juice from. The simplicity was a plus, though maybe the extras not included was a nice change, having for of a fish flavor, and the lemon giving this a subtle flavor flavor. Tagged and made in Pick a Chef 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker October 25, 2012

I have used this recipe twice, and I definitely will be using it again and again! I, too, found the foil to be a bit different since I'm used to poaching directly in the liquid, but I actually found the salmon to be more moist when cooked in the foil. I used garlic salt, crushed garlic, a squeeze of lemon, and freshly ground black pepper as seasonings for the second time since the first time (with just the salt and pepper) seemed kind of bland. I also had to modify the simmering time because my fillets were rather thick, and I'm kind of squeamish about raw salmon (except when it's sushi ^_^)...I actually simmered mine for 8 minutes. The skin pulled away easily, and the fish flaked nicely. I may use this recipe to create a salmon salad, kind of like tuna, that I can use for lunches or snacks. Thank you for an awesome recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodanimechicki September 01, 2008

I was intrigued by this recipe because of cooking the salmon in a packet. I was apprehensive though over the short cooking time and do confess to leaving it longer. I am very squeamish about undercooked fish. The fish I pulled out after the longer time was overdone, but I ate it happily. Next time I will follow the directions for my hubsands pkt. I used lemon pepper and the flavor was nice with additional lemon wedges at the table. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 25, 2008

My salmon was perfectly cooked. Used this method to cook salmon I'm going to be using in some salad recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 21, 2008

So simple and so delicious. The salmon was sprinkled with lemon pepper and the packets were cooked in the rice cooker/steamer for a quick dinner with minimal clean-up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 03, 2008
Simple and Healthy Poached Salmon