42 Reviews

This chicken rocks! I had a house full of girls for Friday night supper (Dornettes and friends) and made two kinds of chicken, this one (considered more adult) and a basic, more kid-friendly chicken. You would have thought there were locusts in the area, this chicken was picked clean to the bone. A small war broke out over the potatoes, so next time I'm going to make it with lots and lots of potatoes. Only change was to sub olive oil margarine for the butter. Thanks Bumblebee, we love this chicken!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj April 18, 2004

This was a REALLY nice change from ordinary roast chicken. I used mini potatoes and chunks of sweet potato, next time I'll throw chunks of carrot in, too. I wondered about the sauce but it was delicious. And I cooked the chicken breast side down in my convection oven, so it was very moist. Used no sodium broth and not quite as much butter--but you could still taste it. Definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
longwinternights January 14, 2015

I just made this for dinner tonight, and it was SO GOOD!!! The only change I made was to substitute 1 onion (cut into eighths) and a few smashed cloves of garlic for the shallots, since I didn't have those on hand. The chicken was perfect, the potatoes were just the right texture, and the sauce was out of this world. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katymae16 April 29, 2012

This is a favorite at my house. It's low-maintenance and everyone in my house - husband AND kids - love it. I adjusted the sauce a little for our taste - I use 2 cups of chicken stock (low salt), 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar, and 3 TBSP of butter. I also sprinkle the herbs in there. It turns out great every time. The kids ask for it. THANKS, CHARMED! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamia41128 January 14, 2012

Ok, my original rating is very accurate but I need to add to it. After discovering the trick to a very moist turkey, I decided to attempt the same method with this recipe, so I followed the recipe to the letter and I added slices of orange to the cavity of the chicken..OMG!! It was fantastic! The chicken stayed moist and the oranges really added some nice flavor to the sauce.....The chicken is completely devoured and I am ready to make another one. Fantastic! Honestly deserves 100 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marley_Paige December 04, 2011

This was fabulous. I made it as noted, other than forgetting I was out of parsley so I used a bit of dried oregano, and I added a lot of salt. I salted the heck outta the bird and the vegetables. The sauce was fantastic. My husband said he was in food heaven. And the potatoes - I'll have to cook more potatoes if I want any leftovers. I also threw in some baby carrots and with the balsamic sauce they were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XiolaBlue February 05, 2011

We thought this needed more spices of some sort. It was a little bland in my opinion, but the cooking method was great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes December 16, 2010

Had this tonight for dinner and really enjoyed it. The chicken was moist, and the veggies were delicious. I used carrots, new potatoes and a whole onion cut up into eight pieces (instead of shallots). I did not make the sauce tonight due to time constraints. We didn't miss it, but I'll definitely try it some other time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwh February 11, 2010

Delicious recipe! Simon and Garfunkel should be proud. I'll make it often and share it with all my friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Marjorie January 29, 2010
Simon & Garfunkel Roast Chicken