Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simon & Garfunkel Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simon & Garfunkel Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2004

      This chicken rocks! I had a house full of girls for Friday night supper (Dornettes and friends) and made two kinds of chicken, this one (considered more adult) and a basic, more kid-friendly chicken. You would have thought there were locusts in the area, this chicken was picked clean to the bone. A small war broke out over the potatoes, so next time I'm going to make it with lots and lots of potatoes. Only change was to sub olive oil margarine for the butter. Thanks Bumblebee, we love this chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      I just made this for dinner tonight, and it was SO GOOD!!! The only change I made was to substitute 1 onion (cut into eighths) and a few smashed cloves of garlic for the shallots, since I didn't have those on hand. The chicken was perfect, the potatoes were just the right texture, and the sauce was out of this world. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      This is a favorite at my house. It's low-maintenance and everyone in my house - husband AND kids - love it. I adjusted the sauce a little for our taste - I use 2 cups of chicken stock (low salt), 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar, and 3 TBSP of butter. I also sprinkle the herbs in there. It turns out great every time. The kids ask for it. THANKS, CHARMED! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Ok, my original rating is very accurate but I need to add to it. After discovering the trick to a very moist turkey, I decided to attempt the same method with this recipe, so I followed the recipe to the letter and I added slices of orange to the cavity of the chicken..OMG!! It was fantastic! The chicken stayed moist and the oranges really added some nice flavor to the sauce.....The chicken is completely devoured and I am ready to make another one. Fantastic! Honestly deserves 100 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      This was fabulous. I made it as noted, other than forgetting I was out of parsley so I used a bit of dried oregano, and I added a lot of salt. I salted the heck outta the bird and the vegetables. The sauce was fantastic. My husband said he was in food heaven. And the potatoes - I'll have to cook more potatoes if I want any leftovers. I also threw in some baby carrots and with the balsamic sauce they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      We thought this needed more spices of some sort. It was a little bland in my opinion, but the cooking method was great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Had this tonight for dinner and really enjoyed it. The chicken was moist, and the veggies were delicious. I used carrots, new potatoes and a whole onion cut up into eight pieces (instead of shallots). I did not make the sauce tonight due to time constraints. We didn't miss it, but I'll definitely try it some other time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Delicious recipe! Simon and Garfunkel should be proud. I'll make it often and share it with all my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I've never made this with the sauce so I can't vouch for that, but the ratios of spices and salt are deeeelishous. And since I tend to find myself making this soon after I look in the kitchen and think, "Oh no, the potatoes are sprouting again! And look at these floppy carrots and celery!", you can be assured that more veggies is a good thing. Oh, and I like to cheat by breaking my chicken's back and laying it spread-eagle (spread-chicken?) over the veggies to make it cook faster. Don't forget to save the carcass for soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I've made this several times now and it never disappoints. The combination and amount of herbs is just right. But I haven't bothered with the sauce as I prefer the flavour of the chicken rather than the balsamic vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      With all the herbs, the flavor of this was wonderful. But in my opinion, it was the sauce that took this from just roast chicken to something much more special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I'd be dating myself if I admitted to knowing where the title of this recipe came from. At any rate it was a delicious meal made with baby potatoes. I added sweet carrots and parsnips to make a more complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Great chicken, followed the recipe as posted. We are a family of four, and I barely had enough meat left to make soup out of the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Really enjoyed this meal. Tender chicken and beautiful aroma. Its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Loved it. Only thing I changed was added a bit of cornstarch to the sauce to make a gravy. (Wanted to slop over mashed potatoes.) Herbs tasted beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was delicious. Instead of the individual herbs, I used Bell Seasoning, which is pretty much a blend of them all. It was easier that way. I also tossed the potatoes and shallots in a touch of salt, along with the herbs and oil. Everyone loved it, and I could drink the gravy. I will definitely make this again. And I think it serves more than 4 people. We have 4 in our family and we still have half the chicken left along with a ton of potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This chicken was wonderful. I would have liked less shallots and more potatoes. Next time I will double the potatoes. Also I made the sauce and did not think it was needed. My kids each ate two pieces of chicken. simple to make and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      A wonderfull tastie, easy, and quick resipie. Simpaly delishes for a first time roasted chicken cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I baked the chicken and skipped the sauce (I was running short for time). I bathed the chicken in lemon juice first to help tenderize the chicken, and stuffed it with a lemon cut in quarters, then I followed the recipe. Chicken came out great with the herb mix, potatoes and shallots. I was going to add garlic but forgot. I only had 1/2 tsp rosemary. It turned out great. Next time, I will definitely make the sauce. Thank you for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This chicken was excellent-- lovely flavors complemented so nicely by the sauce. I actually added sauteed mushrooms to my sauce, and served it with pasta rather than roasting potatoes. I'll surely prepare this again. Thanks for posting! --Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simon & Garfunkel Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (702 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1230.2
     
    Calories from Fat 792
    64%
    Total Fat 88.0 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 28.6 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 289.5 mg
    96%
    Sodium 397.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 64.0 g
    128%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites