45 Reviews

Wow, cheap, easy to prepare & very very tasty. I added 3 tspns minced garlic (bottled) and some marsala wine towards end. Crock pot for 4 hours on high. Gravy delicious, meat tender. Definite keeper. DH agreed with 5 stars. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dori S February 20, 2010

Tasty, different way to have steak for dinner. I tweaked by adding sliced green olives, omitting the salt, no onions on hand so I used onion powder, used soy sauce in place of Worcester b/c it's what I had on hand, as well, and used about a cup and a half of tomato sauce. I simmered for two hours and the sauce got too thick, so I added some of the water used to pack the bottled olives, and simmered another half hour. Tender and flavorful. Served over white rice, with baby peas on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 February 09, 2010

This was easy and great tasting. Even my 2 year old who never eats meat ate it and clapped after each bite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dalgal76 January 08, 2010

really enjoyed it the sause is off the hook. only thing I ran into was the meat dried out slightly..fix it by add slightly more water and cooked on low for like another 30min or so

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dannit98 November 10, 2009

What a great way to cook this cut of steak! my family loved it, expecially my hubby! thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindyblooms October 24, 2009

The flavor of the sauce was quite delicious- I had to make a few subs as I didn't have any tomato sauce. Used beef broth and tomato paste instead. For some reason the meat just didn't turn out for me. It was incredibly tough. I'm not quite sure what I did wrong. I had 2 round steaks and simmered them for almost 2 hours. They were inedible for some reason- like hockey pucks! I will try this again but with another cut of meat- it was my first time using eye of round steaks and I don't think I'll be getting them again. (unfortunately as they are so cheap!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimply dots August 11, 2009

Everyone in my family enjoyed this recipe - that's all it takes to get 5 stars in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelliCanCook February 19, 2009

Excellent recipe. I altered it to match the ingredients I had on hand substituting jarred pasta sauce, soy sauce, and brown sugar and it was fantastic. Even my husband, who is rather picky, liked it enough to request I make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bananarama February 16, 2009

We thought this was pretty good. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used one can of tomatoes and a little bit of tomato paste. It came out to a nice thick, rich sauce. I browned the steak a little too much so it wasn't as tender as it could have been but that was cook error. I served this with egg noodles and corn on the cob. I thought it was a tasty cheap meal that you can make with everything you would normally have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebellemichelle July 31, 2008

Deee-licious! Easy! All ingredients on hand. Soo glad I came across this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion July 09, 2008
Simmered Round Steak