Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simmered Round Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simmered Round Steak

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2008

      We loved this dish!!! The sauce is so flavorful and not what you are expecting!!! We were pleasantly surprised! Made with rice and put extra sauce over rice! Will make again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      What a quick and easy meal to prepare! The whole family enjoyed this meal!! I had the leftovers the next day and they were fabulous!!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      What more needs to be said? It was great and I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      this was very good. I thought I would try a different red round steak recipe other than the one I usually make...this was very very good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I loved this! I only used about half an onion, which worked perfectly, and served this over homemade mashed potatoes with the gravy. Delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I've tried numerous main dish recipes from this site and I have to say my bf and I loved this one the most! So tender and so tasty, I will be making this again and again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This came out okay, but wont be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This turned out really well! I didn't have tomato sauce on hand so I used about 1 cup of diced tomatoes... also, I first marinated the steaks with Worcestershire for a couple of hours. Served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and sauteed whole kernel corn, and we drank a Pinot Noir with it. VERY satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Another keeper from the Zaar! I used tomato soup because I was out of tomato sauce. Because of this, I left off the sugar. I left off the salt and only used half of the W. sauce and mustard (personal preference). I will add 1 more onion next time. The steak was tender. My husband & I liked it alot. I will make it again. Thanks, Jean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      I cut the partially thawed round steak into bigger bite-sized pieces, dredged it in flour, and so I did need a little more oil, but then I drained it afterwards (I used olive oil) until it was nicely browned. For the tomato sauce and 1 cup water is basically about the same as 1 pint (2 cups) home canned tomatoes, and so I used that (I don't think it would make a lot of difference if you even used 2-20 oz cans of tomatoes). I turned the crockpot on, sliced the onion in that, added the worcestershire sauce, mustard, and tomatoes, but left out the sugar and salt, as my home-canned tomatoes already have salt and sugar in them. This is a real easy recipe to do in the crockpot! So the meat was basically done with the browning, and I couldn't resist adding garlic, just tasted it and it's not even completely done yet, very much looking forward to dinner if it's this good already! Plus I loved cookin4my3boys picture of it, so we’re having it with mashed potatoes, corn, and rice on the side. ;) Or I may be so hungry by then smelling it all day we may just have it with rice! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Wow. Just finished eating it and everyone loved it. Thank you for helping my budget big time. I won't have to hesitate buying this less expensive meat know that I can do this to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      What a DELICIOUSLY easy way to prepare a tough cut of meat. Wonderful! My only recommendation--which is minor and, really, unnecessary(!)--would be to combine the mustard, worcestershire, tomato sauce, etc. before adding it to the frying pan. I sort of slopped things around when trying to get it mixed in the pan. A most delicious recipe. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      This is really tasty! It has a BBQ sauce flavor, but is not spicy. This recipe can be used for lesser quality meats because the simmering makes the meat so tender. My family said that I should make this again. I served over rice, but noodles would be good also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This was a very tasty dish! I more than doubled the recipe for my family of 6, knowing 2 pounds just wouldn't be enough for the 5 males, 4 of whom are still growing and growing. The only thing I changed was that I cooked it all in a crock pot, layering the meat, onions and sauce. Oh, I also added a bit of ground black pepper. Turned out great! Very tender and flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Very good and easy to do! I did mine on the stove b/c my oven was tied up with something else. I let it simmer without the lid a bit at the end to thicken up the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Excellent recipe. Fixed it today and there were no leftovers. Left out the mustard though but still came out good. Next time I'll add mushrooms and green peppers. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Wow, what a great taste! The combination of ingredients is delicious. I did flour the meat and added Lawry's seasoning before browning. Thanx, jean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      I loved this recipe; it was so easy and tasted so good. This meal is a real good comfort food. I changed it a bit and added 3 cloves garlic finely chopped. Also I omitted the 3 Tbls. of Prepared mustard and substituted 1 tsp. dry mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      Yummy! I'm not a fan of steak unless it's cooked on the grill, but this was so tasty! Will definately make again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      Very good recipe. Very fast and simple. I used pizza sauce instead of tomato sauce just because its all I had on hand. I will definitely make again..with tomato sauce. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simmered Round Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.5
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    53%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 792.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes