Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simmered Round Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simmered Round Steak

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2003

      I made this dish last night. My husband and I both liked the flavor. I put it in the crockpot and let it cook on low for about 9 hours. I took the lid off the crockpot during the last hour to help reduce the sauce. Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      I made this recipe last night. I added chopped celery, minced garlic, and thickened it with cornstarch so I could serve it over rice. I also made steamed fresh spinach to go with it. My husband and I loved it, but my 6 year old daughter wasn't crazy about it. I plan to make it again in the near future. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      I made this for dinner last night, there were no leftovers. It is delicious, my husband & son agree too. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes & cucumber salad. Thanks for the great recipe Jean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2014

      I was looking for a "homey comfort food" recipe to use up some round steak that I bought on sale. This was excellent, the meat was very tender and we all loved it. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Excellent flavor for a plain old round steak! We loved the sauce - it is not too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly as written, simmering covered for about two hours. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and broccoli. Since there's just the two of us, I had leftovers, so the next day, I shredded the remaining meat, added back into the sauce, and we had hot beef sandwiches (bonus!).
      Thanks, Jean, we'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      This was very good...I added carrots and used brown sugar. I baked it in the oven. I will make again for sure,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I tried this tonight and made it exactly as the recipe was written. It smelled so yummy while simmering... but it was just too salty for our taste. My husband did enjoy the flavor, so if I make this again, I will have to not put as much salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Great recipe! I some round steak and didn't know what to do with it. Even my 4 year old liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      I made this recipe last night and it was delicious. There were no leftovers and everyone had seconds, even my picky eaters. I used Dijon Mustard for the prepared mustard because I am not sure what that is. Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Very tasty! I substituted 1/2 tsp onion powder for the onion since I was snowed in without an onion and it worked well. I served it over buttered egg noodles and had plenty of sauce still leftover. It was just a tad bit on the tomato-y side. I think next time I'll cut out the salt and try substituting beef broth for the water to see if I can get a more balanced flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Wow, cheap, easy to prepare & very very tasty. I added 3 tspns minced garlic (bottled) and some marsala wine towards end. Crock pot for 4 hours on high. Gravy delicious, meat tender. Definite keeper. DH agreed with 5 stars. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Tasty, different way to have steak for dinner. I tweaked by adding sliced green olives, omitting the salt, no onions on hand so I used onion powder, used soy sauce in place of Worcester b/c it's what I had on hand, as well, and used about a cup and a half of tomato sauce. I simmered for two hours and the sauce got too thick, so I added some of the water used to pack the bottled olives, and simmered another half hour. Tender and flavorful. Served over white rice, with baby peas on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was easy and great tasting. Even my 2 year old who never eats meat ate it and clapped after each bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      really enjoyed it the sause is off the hook. only thing I ran into was the meat dried out slightly..fix it by add slightly more water and cooked on low for like another 30min or so

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      What a great way to cook this cut of steak! my family loved it, expecially my hubby! thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      The flavor of the sauce was quite delicious- I had to make a few subs as I didn't have any tomato sauce. Used beef broth and tomato paste instead. For some reason the meat just didn't turn out for me. It was incredibly tough. I'm not quite sure what I did wrong. I had 2 round steaks and simmered them for almost 2 hours. They were inedible for some reason- like hockey pucks! I will try this again but with another cut of meat- it was my first time using eye of round steaks and I don't think I'll be getting them again. (unfortunately as they are so cheap!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Everyone in my family enjoyed this recipe - that's all it takes to get 5 stars in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I altered it to match the ingredients I had on hand substituting jarred pasta sauce, soy sauce, and brown sugar and it was fantastic. Even my husband, who is rather picky, liked it enough to request I make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      We thought this was pretty good. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used one can of tomatoes and a little bit of tomato paste. It came out to a nice thick, rich sauce. I browned the steak a little too much so it wasn't as tender as it could have been but that was cook error. I served this with egg noodles and corn on the cob. I thought it was a tasty cheap meal that you can make with everything you would normally have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Deee-licious! Easy! All ingredients on hand. Soo glad I came across this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simmered Round Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.5
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    53%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 792.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes