Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simmered Lamb Shanks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simmered Lamb Shanks

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2002

      Fork tender lamb in a beautifully balanced wine and herb sauce. I loved the bay leaf, rosemary and majoram combination. The only thing I changed was to reduce the amount of peppercorns to 1 tsp and I added 2 quartered potatoes during the last 45 minutes of cooking. I browned the lamb in my Le Creuset dutch oven and deglazed the pan with the red wine before adding the remaining ingredients. This was so easy to prepare and tasted like it came from a gourmet restaurant. Thanks Evie* for another delightful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      I had to special order the lamb shanks from the meat market. They are not so big on lamb down here in the south. I took Lorac's suggestions and prepared like this--browned the shanks in a oven-proof dutch oven, deglazed the pan with the wine and broth, added the rest of the ingredients and cooked in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. The meat was fork tender and had the most incredible flavor. I did as you suggested and served with garlic mashed potatoes. A fabulous meal. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      Evie* this dish had a WONDERFUL taste. The only change DH and I would make is to cook longer for tenderness. The wine and herbs together made for such a taste sensation. We also made garlic mashed potatoes to go along with it. Next we'll try Lorac's idea using quartered potatoes. A definite make-again recipe. Thanx Evie*!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I browned the baby lamb shanks and ribs in a cast iron pan then added them to the other ingredients in a Roemertopf (clay cooker) in a 300' oven for close to 3 hours. It was easy and delicious. Very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

    • on December 09, 2007

      I liked this dish, but did not love it. We read the reviews, prepared everything in the Dutch Oven, and deglazed the pan with wine as suggested. The good things about this recipe is that it is easy to prepare and the meat was very tender. However, I did not find that the gravy had as much flavor as I would have liked. It seemed rather bland to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

    • on March 09, 2007

      This is a great lamb recipe! I didn't have fresh herbs so used dried and it still turned out great. I also added some quartered potatoes and baby carrots in the last hour of cooking instead of the mashies, they were delish. It was the first time I have had shanks and didn't care for the weird gristly stuff running through it so I think next time I will use a boneless leg of lamb, either way I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the awesome recipe Evie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Very good but because of my own time restraints, I simmered lamb just shy of 2 hours and I think the lamb would have been much more tender if I let it bake for 2+ hours. Sauce was wonderful too! Will definitely try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      This is a good, fairly simple recipe. There was a lot of broth that I would have liked to make into a gravy/sauce, but I was pressed for time. The broth had amazing flavor and I think it could be saved to use as a soup with any lamb you have leftover -- unfortunatly for us, the meat was delicious and so we had nothing left! I used regular onions, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

    • on October 16, 2005

      We eat a lot of shanks and this was another good recipe, with lots of lavour from all those herbs. I cooked mine for 3 hours in that slow oven and they were melt in the mouth tender. I would have liked time to reduce the very thin broth a bit to go over our garlic mash and will allow for this next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This is another of my 10-star alerts! It produced the most amazing, tender lamb and the juices were to die for straight out of the pan. We didn't even thicken them into gravy. We had pretty big shanks (one easily fed two of us) and the meat wasn't overly pink so I think if you had slightly smallish cuts of meat you could probably cut at least 15 minutes off the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      Brilliant! We will make this forever, thank you Evie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      I made your recipe a couple of nights ago and it was delicious. Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh herbs, but the dried gave a good flavour. The only modification I made was to take the meat out at the end and reduce the broth by about one-half before adding the meat back. I had to use packaged beef broth (not having any home-made on hand, although I did add some "jus" from a beef roast) and I think this added to the flavour. What a wonderful recipe! Thank you Evie, I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simmered Lamb Shanks

    Serving Size: 1 (922 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1339.2
     
    Calories from Fat 608
    45%
    Total Fat 67.6 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 484.2 mg
    161%
    Sodium 1028.2 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 146.1 g
    292%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh rosemary

    fresh marjoram

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes