Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simmered Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simmered Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2011

      Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      This was amazing as a St. Patty's Day side dish with corned beef! I didn't have any sherry on hand unfortunately, but I'm sure it would only make it better. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This was awesome! I just made it for the 2nd time and my wife and even our 7-year-old son loves it! It has become a family favorite! Next time I might try a vegetable broth recipe from Dr. Weil's book instead of the chicken broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      Really nice way to prepare cabbage. Loved the sherry. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      this is very good......try it with a little bit of smoked pork shoulder or butt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      This certainly was NOT gourmet food, but I wasn't looking for gourmet fare. I wanted comfort food, easy and good, and that's what I got. I had a half head of cabbage I wanted to use, and a can of chicken broth, and decided this would work. I can't wait for it to finish. Very tasty and a recipe I will be using lots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      This is yummy! The Sherry is a keeper as well as the chicken broth. Thanks Julesong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      I can't believe what a difference the chicken broth made! I've been making "boiled dinner" for 30 years...and I'm such a purist that I never even considered changing my mom's recipe. I used your recipe as a jumping off point. I sauteed 1/8 cups onion in 1 Tbl. of butter, then added the cabbage, chicken broth, a 4 ounce chunk of ham and 3 potatoes quartered. The difference was subtle but so amazingly better.<br/>Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Great cabbage dish. I used a small cabbage from the garden and threw in some cut-up kielbasa sausage for a quick meal with smashed potatoes and corn. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Yummy!!! Thanks for the great and so easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      This was great. I usually just eat it steamed with ketchup on top. DH doesn't like cabbage so he usually eats mass amounts of hot sauce on his cabbage! The ketchup and hot sauce remained in the fridge with this recipe. Thanks for a bit of variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      100+ stars for this recipe! I made this and my kids both declined some until I told them to try it. Hmmmm.....they both added a healthy portion to their plates!!! It really is wonderful. The broth gives this cabbage so much extra flavor. We loved this recipe. I will continue to make cabbage this way. Thanks so much for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      This was very good! I used a whole head of cabbage and vacuum packed the extra for the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Simple and satisfying side! It was enjoyed by all five of the eaters at our table today. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      After reading an article about cabbage http://sociecity.com/rethink/mighty-cheeseburger-meets-lowly-cabbage I felt compelled to eat cabbage and other veggies more often than meat, this recipe realllly helped, because it is simple and delicious!

      Thank you Sociecity.com, thank you Food.com!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Best cabbage side dish ever! I made this for two people and more than half of it was gone before dinner was even served. Next time I will double it at least. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I've made this a couple of times. I make it as written and we like it warm or cold. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is a very good recipe. We don't use sherry, but add about 2 tsps. of sugar when cooking the cabbage. We like it slightly on the sweet side. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      This was so delicious. Made just as written and perfect the way it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      This was decent cooked cabbage, but I think I still prefer cabbage incorporated into a dish rather than just served cooked on the side. Just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simmered Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.7
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    64%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 523.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes