Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simmered Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simmered Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2004

      This was a fabulous recipe. So quick and easy to make. I didn't have green peppers so I used red bell pepper instead and it was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This was really easy and tolerated a fair amount of neglect. I don't remember adding the thyme, so I probably forgot, but I would add it next time. Very good. Even people who usually complain about beans as a side dish gobbled it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

    • on December 03, 2008

      This was great! I added a bit of chile pepper to it to spice it up. Tasted fresh and yummy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I liked this but I don't think I'll make it again. I wanted a healthier alternative to refried beans with our Mexican meal. These tasted a little like chili without the meat. I topped mine with cheese and sour cream (there goes healthier! :) My DH did not much care for these and I probably won't make them just for myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Good, basic bean recipe. I used a whole can of Ro-Tel Mexican Fiesta tomatoes (which has cilantro and lime) so I left out the thyme and s&p but did everything else as written. These beans were quite spicy, especially if you use a hot chili powder like we do. Good and easy, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I was sauteeing peppers/onions for fajitas when I remembered this recipe. This quick bean dish had a complex flavor and the thyme gave it a unique taste. I used chunky salsa (Pace) since I was out of tomatoes. Thanks Chris from Kansas, for another great recipe. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      It was good I even added zucchini, yum! It was a little too sweet. My children even ate it without complaning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      TASTY, GOOD for YOU and TASTY!! What else could one ask for? Thanks for this wonderful addition to my food regimine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      These were very good. I cut back on the onion and finely chopped them. Used 2 lg. cloves of garlic and fresh diced tomatoes along with the remaining ingredients. I let it simmer for about 30 min. Next time I think I will add a bit more cumin and chili powder plus some diced green chilies. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I really enjoyed this. Very flavorful and will taste great today in a tortilla, too. Unfortunately,when it came time to add the beans I realized that I had run out of black beans, so I had to use northern beans. It tasted pretty good with those beans, but will taste even better with black.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      This was a nice blend of spices and vegetables--I doubled the garlic and halved the onions, adding 2 scallions, onion salt, and cayenne pepper--I like it hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Great recipe. A perfect meal when served on a bed of rice. Are you sure you're from Kansas and not from Cuba?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      This was a very flavorful and delicious bean side dish for dinner the other day. I loved the taste! I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Wow! This was so good! I'm on phase 2 of the South Beach Diet & was looking for something to fit that was tasty & healthy. This was perfect! I followed the recipe to the letter & was very happy with the results. I did let it cook down a little longer to thicken as mine was still kind of "soupy". this would be perfect topped with a little sgredded cheese or sour cream for the non-dieters, or low fat for thos of us watching the scales! As for us, we didn't feel the need, it was yummy just the way it was. Thanks for a great recipe! I'll definately be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      I had this for lunch the other day. So quick to make. I used red bell pepper - that's what I had. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      I had such a craving for black beans today and this recipe took care of that. I made it completely as written and it was perfect! As Chris says, the seasonings are just right...I love the cumin in this and can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow for lunch. Thanks so much Chris, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simmered Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.6
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    32%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 148.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites