Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Silver Cleaning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Silver Cleaning Recipe

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2007

      This did not work quite as well as I thought it would on extremely tarnished silver. But it still worked pretty well and my things turned from black to silver-y, but not glistening like if I had used polish on them. Certainly a good method if you're just trying to clean off a large amount of silver, but for heavily tarnished objects that you want to glisten, sticking to real silver polish is a better idea. I did find that this version of the recipe worked much better than a version with 1 TBS baking soda, 1 TBS salt. I also did not find that this cleaned the tarnish out of the cracks of my silver too much, which is actually nice as that lends to the depth of most pieces, but might not be ideal for something like silverware.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      Works great! Nice to clean silver without having black hands afterwards ;-) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Works great!! Cleans immediately with no rubbing. I filled the sink with a stock pot of boiling water and just 2 T baking soda and 2 sheets foil and it still worked right away. Light sulfur odor, but nothing too bad. Cleaned an old silverplate cruet set and a tea service within minutes. Only problem I had was the large tray for the tea service, only because it wouldn't fit in the sink. Tried rigging the foil and hot solution to no avail and ended up hand polishing that one piece, which made me REALLY appreciate how fast the other pieces were done! Purists will say removing the tarnish from the patterns in silver detracts from its appearance, but who cares! I hate polishing silver, but even I can manage this a couple of times a year. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I used this a couple of times the other day and believe me, it smells a lot better than the stuff in a bottle!! It works well too, although I had to use the stuff in the bottle to get the really tough stuff off after I used it. This is really easy to work with and you will most likely have everything on hand. Years ago I bought a silver cleaner mat that was based on this, lent it to my neighbor and never got it back. I have always wondered how well this worked, so now I know and will continue to use this. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      Worked like a charm on my mother's very, very old silver plated silverware. Make sure the water is boiling hot and you will have a perfect cleaner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      This was fantastic. I was wondering how I was going to get my jewelry looking nice again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      This recipe is amazing. I used it on a necklace I thought would never come clean. Within seconds, all the dirt was gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      I wish I could tell you how black the silverplate bowl I cleaned today was... it had been in storage for years and I was cleaning it for the first time today! I used silver polish on it twice and it was still awful.... and then I remembered I had saved this recipe!!! All I can say is WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!!! I had to quadruple the recipe to cover the bowl but it came out so BRIGHT and CLEAN looking! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      WOW! This is awesome and couldn't be easier! I just used it to clean a bracelet that now looks like new again AND you saved me $$ on silver cleaner! Thank you!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      This ROCKS!! I did my entire silver service in less than an hour! Some of that tarnish (inheritied) was more than 40 years old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      I wish I had found this "recipe" years ago when the kids were little. They're grown now, and when I first used this they both said "Wow" and got some of their tarnished sterling jewelry (some bracelets and a necklace) and we tried it on those items - came out perfectly tarnish-free. I usually just line my kitchen sink with foil - makes it a little easier to clean up after.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      This recipe is what I call a "REAL KITCHEN BLESSING" to have on hand when you need to clean your silver of all the dirt that's got onto it. I have used this recipe so many times and always had GREAT success with it. I've used it to clean the little silver Gods and Goddesses I have in my home in Oman as well as to clean other silverware at home. This recipe ALWAYS works like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      I used it in my stainless steel sink with wonderfull results.My silver serving set turned out perfectly.Amazing results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Silver Cleaning Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7514.3 mg
    313%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites