30 Reviews

I used a chocolate pre-baked crust and it was great. You can't tell that there is tofu in it, but it is a very RICH dessert!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie Mulligan October 10, 2002

I have to add my review - what a fabulous recipe! I am not a tofu fan in the least, but when I saw this recipe and its great reviews I figured it was worth a try so that I would have a less-than-sinful dessert at our Thanksgiving buffet.

What a hit!!! Everyone loved it and could not believe it was made with tofu. The consistency is beautifully rich, and the flavors a favorite for everyone. I completely omitted the sugar and it was great. I actually made two pies (using a pre-bought Oreo crust), and in the second one my daughter convinced me to add more chocolate, which tasted divine. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol.k.elliott November 26, 2011

Made this twice now. Each time made with my own pie crust (made with digestive biscuits). I can only get firm silken tofu, but it still turns out perfect. It's the silken part thats the important part anyhow.. Has a texture just like cheescake. Very rich, but not too sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sath Fawcett September 29, 2011

I am a lifelong vegetarian and I have eaten many a "tofu pie" in my life but this one stands out as the absolute best! My entire family LOVED it. I used bittersweet chocolate, 1/3 cup sugar and almond flavoring instead of vanilla. It was silky and very rich. Thanks for a wonderful dessert that all my vegan friends can enjoy:-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aioli_Queen December 11, 2007

Only had firm tofu on hand so I was thinking it wouldn't work so well but it worked wonderfully. I'm sure a soft tofu would have yielded a looser pie but it tasted amazing and even my anti-tofu guy liked it. Did pop in one teaspoon of salt because I've always liked a little salt with my chocolate. Delightful recipe - going in my files! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop March 15, 2015

I made this last night and didn't change a thing. Delicious! The fam gobbled it up and were shocked when I told them after that the main ingredient was tofu! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lizzie February 11, 2013

This is one of the best peanut butter pies i have ever had! I left out the chocolate, because I was making this for a friend that is allergic to dairy and I didn't have any dairy-free chocolate. Used firm tofu, because that's all I could find at the store and I used a puff pastry crust since that's what I had around. I'll definitely be making this again though!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef515 April 08, 2011

Decadent! I used a 14 oz. package of firm tofu (drained and pressed), as it was all my market had today. I also thinned it out with 1/4 c. organic 2% milk, which made it the perfect texture. I baked a homemade graham cracker crust (6 tbsp unsalted butter melted and mixed with 1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs and baked for 8 mins at 350--cool before using). I topped it with cool whip, crushed peanuts, a chocolate drizzle, and mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. It looked and tasted lovely! Thanks, Yogi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette June 17, 2010

Wow! My daughter, HK, made this and it was fabulous. She used some of the suggested changes and added some more. She used very dark chocolate, firm tofu, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, reduced fat graham crkr crust, 3 Tbsp. rice milk, 2 Tbsp. creme de cacao, and froze it 1-2 hours. We couldn't keep our hands off it. Topped with some fresh berries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skanddwd May 31, 2010

Delicious and easy to make - turned out great even though I was heavy-handed with the pb and chocolate and used less sugar. Plus straight out of the blender it made an amazing chocolate mousse. Next time I might leave the melted chocolate out of the blended mix, adding it as a layer of chocolate ganache on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr Rat May 09, 2010
Silky Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie