9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We try out different salads many times a week and the good point of this recipe is the dressing. It did taste good but it´s drawback is that the cottage cheese leaves a lot of tiny little lumps on the greens which doesnt make food presentation very impression. We didnt have bacon (and we try to avoid eating it). We substituted walnuts instead. It turned out very well. Thanks for sharing. Polar Bear

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Polar Bear December 25, 2003

This is absolutely the best salad I've ever made. You're right, even kids love this salad. I used red onions to give it more color and it tastes better too. I definetly recommend this salad to everyone. Thank you Grace for sharing this recipe. This will be a recipe that will stay in my family for generations to come.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily from Austin November 18, 2003

Best salad dressing I've ever eat. Balance of sweet and sour, since I love cottage cheese, it makes even better. Heathly salad indeed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liesna maurone September 21, 2004

This has been a favorite of my family's for years. I add thinly sliced red onion, mandarin oranges and sliced almonds (toasted) in addition to the mushrooms and bacon. I recently substituted feta cheese for cottage cheese....just sprinkled on top, not in the dressing and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drupipkin November 20, 2008

Excellent! Had this for dinner tonight and it was fantastic! I used Splenda instead of sugar and it was just amazing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SecretIngredients July 01, 2008

Delicious -- I made this for a dinner party, and received positive reviews from everyone. The dressing was a tad too sweet for me, but that is easy to adjust next time. I may also add some thinly sliced red onions the next time we make this for variety. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( June 20, 2005

I made this last night and I must say it is excellent! Me and my son had 2 helpings, pretty unusual for us. Thanks for posting ,this is a keeper. Glittergirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glittergirl October 15, 2004

Loved this salad! I used a mixture of baby greens instead of spinach. The dressing was one of the best I have ever tasted. My hubby loved it too. Will be making it again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi's Mom October 07, 2004

I am so sorry that I did not review this earlier. I have made this salad and dressing according to the recipe for at least 5 dinner parties in the last 7 months. Everybody raves about it. It has now become my signature salad! Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemeOne September 21, 2004
Sidbury House Salad