25 Reviews

This was wonderful! I used a little less olive oil and added just a couple dashes of balsamic vinegar as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debloves2cook May 28, 2009

I agree with another reviewer about adding vinegar to tomatoes--I'm still not sure what it is about the combination I don't like. This recipe bypasses that problem, and it's easy enough to just "eyeball" measurements when adding ingredients to the tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers May 01, 2007

Yes! I have too many tomatoes also. I have canned some, dried some, made salsa (canned some of that too), and no one wants any more tomatoes from me. This is a great recipe, it is tasty, easy, and it keeps the tomatoes fresh in the frig. If several days go by, I can always make some more salsa from this batch. I also cut back on the onions. Thanks for such a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetiebarbara September 16, 2006

I took other reviewers' comments about the onion into consideration and added fewer. The resulting salad was very good. I did add more salt and basil. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 August 06, 2006

Finally Someone Knows Greatness !! Never add vinegar to tomatoes. My family has done this forever and we squeeze the toms first to release the juices then add the rest of ingredients...let it set like you said then get your crusty bread and dip in the juices aka zuccole....Yummm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelle76 July 28, 2006

Loved it. The tomatoes are excellent here right now, and this was another great way to dress them up. (I used Vidalia onion too.) Nice summer dish--thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ July 25, 2006

I also cut back on the onions, increased the finely chopped fresh basil,and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt since I couldn't find that here. What a wonderful side dish. Full of flavour, and perfect for a balmy summer evening. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 5 stars :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 13, 2006

We love tomatoe and onion salad. I didn't have any fresh basil however so I added a bit of dried basil to the oil and let it sit a bit and also added a splash of apple cider vinegar, just to give it some tang. Thanks,they was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan July 11, 2006

Easy, and deliciously fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 10, 2006

This is an excellent salad. The only thing I did differently was to use 2 cloves fresh garlic thinly sliced instead of garlic salt. My family gobbled it alllllll up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo July 10, 2006
Sicilian Tomato & Onion Salad