Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sicilian Tomato & Onion Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sicilian Tomato & Onion Salad

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      this salad was really great! i only made a few changes: i used red onion, used halved grape tomatoes and added fresh parsley to the mix. this was fresh and delicious! i think next time, i'll finish it off with some balsamic vinegar! this is a keeper, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Very nice recipe. It was light and refreshing. I had it as a side dish with balsamic chicken and the balsamic added a little zing to it. I think I will add a little balsamic next time. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This is gorgeous. I don't like the taste of vinegar and tomatoes so this was a treat. I had loads of parsley and basil so I chopped some into the mix with some chives as well as the onion to give it all extra colour. It was very very nice. We are on the Atkins diet and it is Atkins friendly and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      this is called bruschetta. you can also make a meal with this recipe. i use shrimp (peeled and left whole) or chicken (in small bite size pcs,) when meat is almost done cooking in frying pan, add precooked pasta,like angel hair,let that heat up then add the bruschetta toss continuously til meat is cooked and pasta is hot. plate it and spinkle with parm cheese. you can up to $15. when you go out to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I have been making this for as long as I can remember and my mom made it too. It is great. I love to dunk Italian bread in the "juice" YUMO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

    • on July 31, 2009

    • on July 31, 2009

    • on May 28, 2009

      This was wonderful! I used a little less olive oil and added just a couple dashes of balsamic vinegar as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Perfect for those delicious summer garden tomatoes and sweet vidalias! I have made this salad multiple times now adding only a touch of vinegar as we do like our tomato salads with a bit of a tangy bite. Thanks, Little Bee, for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      A refreshing salad. Next time I may try grapeseed oil because it has a lighter flavor than EVOO. Having leftovers for lunch today - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I agree with another reviewer about adding vinegar to tomatoes--I'm still not sure what it is about the combination I don't like. This recipe bypasses that problem, and it's easy enough to just "eyeball" measurements when adding ingredients to the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Yes! I have too many tomatoes also. I have canned some, dried some, made salsa (canned some of that too), and no one wants any more tomatoes from me. This is a great recipe, it is tasty, easy, and it keeps the tomatoes fresh in the frig. If several days go by, I can always make some more salsa from this batch. I also cut back on the onions. Thanks for such a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I took other reviewers' comments about the onion into consideration and added fewer. The resulting salad was very good. I did add more salt and basil. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Finally Someone Knows Greatness !! Never add vinegar to tomatoes. My family has done this forever and we squeeze the toms first to release the juices then add the rest of ingredients...let it set like you said then get your crusty bread and dip in the juices aka zuccole....Yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      Loved it. The tomatoes are excellent here right now, and this was another great way to dress them up. (I used Vidalia onion too.) Nice summer dish--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      I also cut back on the onions, increased the finely chopped fresh basil,and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt since I couldn't find that here. What a wonderful side dish. Full of flavour, and perfect for a balmy summer evening. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 5 stars :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      We love tomatoe and onion salad. I didn't have any fresh basil however so I added a bit of dried basil to the oil and let it sit a bit and also added a splash of apple cider vinegar, just to give it some tang. Thanks,they was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Easy, and deliciously fresh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      This is an excellent salad. The only thing I did differently was to use 2 cloves fresh garlic thinly sliced instead of garlic salt. My family gobbled it alllllll up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sicilian Tomato & Onion Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.2
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    81%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites