Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sicilian-Style Toasted Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sicilian-Style Toasted Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2010

      Rita’s got great recipes! I think every single one that I’ve tried I’ve liked (and I’m terribly remiss in posting reviews) so to everyone reading this don’t ever be afraid to try her recipes, they’re ALL good! I did two things differently making this (because of my time constraints) I cooked the chard ahead of time so when it came to measuring out liquid, there was lots in the container, so I poured it into a measuring cup to take that into consideration measuring out 4 c liquid to 2 c quinoa… and the rest of the liquid to cook the quinoa I used chicken stock that I had on hand. (punched up the flavor a bit) Served with some oven roasted garbanzo beans seasoned with curry and the family REALLY enjoyed this and forgot that I was serving them a meatless meal! Thanks for sharing, Rita, I will surely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      This is truly an exotic and wonderful recipe. I had some misgivings about the raisins and the parmesan cheese combination, but I figure, "don't knock it until you try it." So, don't be afraid folks; I tried it, and was delighted. I used spinach because that was what I had on hand, and it worked perfectly. I also made half a recipe so that we wouldn't have a huge bowl full of leftovers. Quinoa is nutty and delicious, and is especially nice in this recipe. Good post, RitaL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      This is my first time making quinoa. I've eaten it before, but never made it. I didn't have any swiss chard, but made the rest of the recipe. It was quite good! I might try using chicken or veggie stock next time around for a little more flavor, but it was great. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Always looking for recipes on types of food like quinoa. Looks like a great recipe & can't wait to try it. Good job on the informative write-up on it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I really enjoyed this; tasty and appealing to the eye! Made it exactly as written except that my sun dried tomatoes were packed in oil. . .but I still plumped them up in boiling water per the recipe. I am serving it this evening at room temperature aside some Eggplant Parm for a great and satisfying vegetarian meal. Back to note that both DH and I think this is the best quinoa recipe we have tried thus far (and we have tried many). Can wait to try it cold tomorrow for lunch. Thanks Rita!!! Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This was better than I expected, but I didn't love it, although I wanted to. I think I might just have to get used to the flavor and texture of quinoa since it's totally new to us. I only had oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained them and squeezed as much oil out as I could in a paper towel. I also used a little of the oil to saute the chard. I used toasted pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds, which seemed to work beautifully. I also substituted 2 of the 4 cups of water with 2 cups of chicken broth I had on hand. My husband liked it (which says A LOT), especially when he added some of the bacon that was on our chef salad to it. He said the smoky flavor went well with the other flavors. I tried it and he was right! So if you don't absolutely have to make it vegetarian, try the bacon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      The flavors in this dish just didn't quite seem to come together for me. I will definitely use it as inspiration, and I think it'd be good with fewer elements: quinoa with greens and toasted seeds, or quinoa with raisins and cheese, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      This was an awesome salad-one of my first attempts to cook quinoa. Was a hit at a BBQ, especially among vegetarian friends. Definitely, cook the quinoa first as it does take longer. I made a few changes; used spinach instead of chard and added 2 roasted red peppers (chopped finely) as well as the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Will be sharing the recipe w/a few people. Thx Rita for a wonderful addition to my recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2004

      I didn't have sundried tomatoes and made it vegan (I used a little more oil and no cheese) and it was very good. I would start the quinoa first as it takes longer, otherwise the veggies might get overcooked (or at least sit around for a while). I think you could substitute any leafy green for the chard and any type of nut for the sunflower seeds and it would still be good. I bet spinach and walnuts would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sicilian-Style Toasted Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.7
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    35%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 4.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 546.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites