Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sicilian Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sicilian Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2002

      This also makes a wonderful 'deep dish' pizza crust as pictured above. The recipe will make one deep dish crust. Brush rimmed baking sheet with olive oil, place dough into pan and shape and dimple with finger tips. Brush top with olive oil and pre-bake at 425 F for 7 minutes - then add toppings and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      This recipe makes an extraordinarily good crust, unlike ANY of the commercial ones I have ever tasted. It was fresh and flavourful. For the first time ever I saw the crust as a positive contributing factor to the ultimate taste of a pizza rather than just something to support all my favourite toppings. It begs the question, why haven’t I done this before? I think my perception was that it would be time-consuming and difficult may be the ultimate answer. It was neither. While the dough did it’s rising thing, I merrily sliced and diced my favourite fixings. When it came to assembly I was pleasantly surprised to find that I didn’t have to send the dough artfully spinning off into space to achieve a successful crust. It was great fun, thank you Lisa. (prepared for the COOKOUT Cookathon July 1st – July 4th 2002

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      I have been using this pizza dough recipe for many months and it always turns out perfect - very tender and crispy. After spreading dough out onto baking sheet, I brush it with a little olive oil and let it rise for about 15 minutes more. This makes for a light pizza dough. Also, I bake it at 450 degrees for approximately 10 minutes. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      This was so easy and so great!! The photo had me drooling and the reviews won me over - I had to give this a try and am so glad I did. I made two smaller pizzas and it came out exactly like it was supposed to - flavorful, crips exterior, soft interior - no mushy spots. I found the directions to be very clear and helpful - my young daughter wanted to help and the directions made it easier for a beginner cook to follow along. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Another thing that really helps make the crust more tender. Is make the dough in advance, a day or two, store in the refridge, punch down when needed. It really give the flour time to blend and meld into all the other ingredients. I got this tip from a Pizza professional, known for his great pizzas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      This makes two nice sized pizzas, about a medium size thin crust. The texture was great, crisp but with a little chew. I built up the edges just a little and brushed them with olive oil then sprinkles Johnny's Garlic Seasoning and Spread over the olive oil. We topped the pizzas with pizza sauce from a jar, shredded mozzarella and cheddar and some pepperoni and baked on perforated pizza sheets for 10 to 12 minutes at 425 degrees. IF I had used all the dough for one pizza I could have gotten one large or extra large pizza with a hand tossed type crust, a little thicker. And I would have to cook it a bit longer most likely about 15 to 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Seriously amazing dough. I made this to imitate a Sicilian pizza we had in New York. I think my husband is spoiled now and I'll be making pizza a lot more. I topped it with a simple tomato sauce (tomato sauce, olive oil, Aleppo pepper flakes, basil, oregano, garlic powder), thinly sliced fresh sweet tomatoes, caramelized onions with a little fresh garlic thrown in and topped with fresh grated Parmesan Reggiano cheese, baked it at 500 degrees for 12 minutes.

      My only comment was that the recipe doesn't state what to do with the other half of the dough. In my experience, if you make a dough and refrigerate it, you should refrigerate it before letting it rise though I think this dough could take a second rising. I refrigerated mine after the 30 minute rising so will see how it does when I bake it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      fabulous recipe i have made it at least 5 times!! i love it the best on the barbaque and with fresh tomatoe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Made the dough day before yesterday and let it sit in the fridge overnight (which I do every time I make dough). Made three pizzas...two on the stone and one in the pan...all turned out really good. This is my second favourite dough recipe. The first is my own creation :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Used this to make Stromboli. I only ended up using about 3 2/3 cups flour but only because I got tired of kneading! It still turned out great. It baked up pretty crispy but only because I rolled it so thin. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      This turned out wonderful. I mixed it in my Kitchenaid and let it do the kneading. The dough rose up so nice and then rolled out perfectly for me. We loved it. I will use this recipe again, as it was so easy and worked perfectly. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      My family and I loved this dough! I took another reviewer's suggestion and let it "age" overnight in the fridge. The kids each rolled their own crust and made their own pizza, the dough was so great to work with. I had enough dough leftover for 2 mini pizzas and put it in the fridge for two days before using--it was even better than the first night! Thanks for sharing a great recipe Lisa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      ummm...sounds awesome, looks like tonight is make your own pizza night at my house thanks for the great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Excellent and simple. This crust should be the star of the pizza-not a lot of toppings are needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      The best pizza crust I have ever made. Super easy and very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      This is a great recipe for some tasty pizza crust.We live in a rural area of Upstate NY where good pizza is over an hour drive away. My husband and I enjoyed this recipe a whole lot.I make my own pizza sauce and top it with caramelized onions cooked with a little white wine and lots of mozzarella. The crust itself is so good that we keep the toppings to a minimum.
      Thanks Lisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Good! Mixed in the Kitchen-Aid, used half white, half whole wheat flour. Had plenty of dough for my giant Doughmakers pizza pan plus 4 mini pizza pans. Prebaked the crust, then baked topped pizzas at 450. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      I tried it and this was great!! I halfed the recipe and did one deep dish pie crust in my 9 inch round cake pan. It was highly enjoyable. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I loved this pizza dough! It tastes pretty good, though I would reccomend maybe some garlic or sugar for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      This was an easy tasty dough. I used half last night for pizza and the other half tonight for Chicken Chile Stromboli. I think the dough tasted better today after it was able to sit overnight in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sicilian Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.3
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    10%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 297.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.9 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites