Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sicilian Meat Roll Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sicilian Meat Roll

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2013

      A nice change to regular meatloaf - very, very good! I did forget to put the garlic in it so I can't wait to try it again - we found this would easily feed 8 people - a nice company dish. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      My mother made this once many years ago, and I was thrilled to find the recipe here! I put together the meat roll the night before and just put it in the oven when I got home from work, and everyone loved it. I'll definitely be making this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      How could you not love this??? An Italian meat loaf...and doesn't get any better. Thanks for posting. Alan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This reminded me of something my Italian Great-Grandmother made when I was a child, (with a few variations), so I made it. It got wonderful reviews, and tomorrow I will be serving leftovers with Cheesecake Factory Pasta with Mushroom Bolognese as kind of a meatball substitute. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      I LOVE this stuff. My mom made it for us when we were kids. She gave me the original recipe(Better homes & Garden's) & said don't loose it. Well I did so I am glad to find it here. I tried rolling it for the first time and it was so easy. I used waxed paper though. I usually use tomato sauce but was out so I used a squirt of ketchup & it worked great. Despite how well I thought I sealed it a lot of cheese ran out(mom warned me this would happen lol)Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This has been one of my favorite meatloaf-type entrees for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      This only lasted one dinner and one lunch at our house (2 adults and a 2 year old!), so needless to say we loved it! I used tomato sauce instead of the juice, and dry bread crumbs rather than the soft. Surprisingly easy to put together and roll too using the foil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      He ate all of it so its a def 5! Looked so good and smelt fab! THIS IS A DO AGAIN! Thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      Delicious!!! I even used egg beaters, extra lean ground beef, low sodium v-8 and fat fee mozzerella cheese and AHA certified ham since my DH is a heart patient, and WOW it still was moist and flavorful!! I definitely will make this again and thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      I have been making this for years and it is great.I leave the ham out,put a little tomato sauce in the meat mixture and on top after it is rolled up then put mozzarella cheese on top of that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This was a tasy treat! I used tomato sauce instead of the juice because that's what I had on hand. When it came to the rolling-up part, I thought "oh, great, this should be a swear-job", but it wasn't. Fairly simple, using the foil it rolled up nice & neat. After rolling, I simply covered with the foil and refrigerated until ready to bake: one hour & 15 minutes was perfect. I served this with fresh peas & carrots, and a wild & basmati rice medley. Of course, my husband put ketchup on his meat (eyes rolling) but he did put in his two cents and say that the meat mix would make great meatballs topped with Italian sauce (he's probably right!). Can't wait to slice the leftover roll tomorrow for sandwiches. Thanks, Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sicilian Meat Roll

    Serving Size: 1 (256 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.6
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    52%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 202.0 mg
    67%
    Sodium 874.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 44.8 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites