9 Reviews

I had a couple of egg yolks left after making meringues, and found this to be the ideal recipe to use them in, quick, simple and delicious as well,,,can't go wrong.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WicklewoodWench April 05, 2011

Wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out great -- they tasted a lot like macaroons. Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbglass1 November 07, 2010

I made this exactly as written and it was excellent! I used the recommended 1/4 cup sugar (ran regular sugar through my food processor till powdery). They weren't real sweet, which is nice for a change, and allowed the coconut to really shine through! Added crushed, slivered almonds to the second batch, which turned out to be an excellent touch! Great with tea or coffee!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4GoodLookin March 28, 2010

Wonderful! I'm a coconut lover and always enjoy finding new coconut recipes. Because another reviewer said the cookies seemed not to be sweet enough, I used sweetened coconut instead of unsweetened. I doubled the recipe but because I so often forget egg whites sitting in my refrigerator I decided to use three whole eggs rather than six egg yolks. I also substituted powdered sugar for caster sugar. Because the white of the egg is bigger than the yolk I found it necessary to add quite a bit of coconut to make it possible to form balls from the dough. Lots of changes, I know, but the result was terrific. When I make them again, and assuming I double the recipe, I will use only two whole eggs instead of three which would make them not quite as runny and difficult to manipulate. Even though the cookies were obviously sweeter than they would have been with unsweetened coconut they still were not overly sweet. I made them for a grown child who doesn't eat much sugar and I think they'll be just right. Thank you for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omm November 12, 2008

These were lovely & so easy to make. I made them for the ZWT4 African Dessert challenge, so used sweetened coconut flakes, added 3 tbsp honey & left out one egg yolk. The taste was great. Thanks for sharing this recipe Mandy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl June 29, 2008

I selected this for the ZWT4 African dessert challenge which called for preparing a dish without white sugar. Replaced the caster sugar with 3 tablespoons of barley malt and reduced the yolks by one because of the liquidity of the malt. This substitution gave me a confection quite different in taste and appearance from the original recipe. Barley malt is darker than honey and while sweet has a slightly smoky flavor, though nothing compared to molasses. The results of my kitchen experiment were met with mixed reviews; I liked them but my coworkers did not. I suspect honey - milder and sweeter - would have worked better for them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 25, 2008

I simply love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jokermon23 December 13, 2007

Simple, quick, tasty and not exactly a sinful indulgence either and great with tea. I did use Raw Sugar that I ground myself and heirloom whole white wheat pastry flour. Bottom line is .........We loved them :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandon J. Li February 11, 2014

I was undecided as how to rate this recipe. These balls had a nice taste but they weren't very sweet. I sprinkled some powdered sugar on top of them once they cooled. Made for ZWT 4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 27, 2008
Shuku Shuku (Nigerian Coconut Balls)