Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shuku Shuku (Nigerian Coconut Balls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shuku Shuku (Nigerian Coconut Balls)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2011

      I had a couple of egg yolks left after making meringues, and found this to be the ideal recipe to use them in, quick, simple and delicious as well,,,can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out great -- they tasted a lot like macaroons. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I made this exactly as written and it was excellent! I used the recommended 1/4 cup sugar (ran regular sugar through my food processor till powdery). They weren't real sweet, which is nice for a change, and allowed the coconut to really shine through! Added crushed, slivered almonds to the second batch, which turned out to be an excellent touch! Great with tea or coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Wonderful! I'm a coconut lover and always enjoy finding new coconut recipes. Because another reviewer said the cookies seemed not to be sweet enough, I used sweetened coconut instead of unsweetened. I doubled the recipe but because I so often forget egg whites sitting in my refrigerator I decided to use three whole eggs rather than six egg yolks. I also substituted powdered sugar for caster sugar. Because the white of the egg is bigger than the yolk I found it necessary to add quite a bit of coconut to make it possible to form balls from the dough. Lots of changes, I know, but the result was terrific. When I make them again, and assuming I double the recipe, I will use only two whole eggs instead of three which would make them not quite as runny and difficult to manipulate. Even though the cookies were obviously sweeter than they would have been with unsweetened coconut they still were not overly sweet. I made them for a grown child who doesn't eat much sugar and I think they'll be just right. Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      These were lovely & so easy to make. I made them for the ZWT4 African Dessert challenge, so used sweetened coconut flakes, added 3 tbsp honey & left out one egg yolk. The taste was great. Thanks for sharing this recipe Mandy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I selected this for the ZWT4 African dessert challenge which called for preparing a dish without white sugar. Replaced the caster sugar with 3 tablespoons of barley malt and reduced the yolks by one because of the liquidity of the malt. This substitution gave me a confection quite different in taste and appearance from the original recipe. Barley malt is darker than honey and while sweet has a slightly smoky flavor, though nothing compared to molasses. The results of my kitchen experiment were met with mixed reviews; I liked them but my coworkers did not. I suspect honey - milder and sweeter - would have worked better for them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I simply love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Simple, quick, tasty and not exactly a sinful indulgence either and great with tea. I did use Raw Sugar that I ground myself and heirloom whole white wheat pastry flour. Bottom line is .........We loved them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I was undecided as how to rate this recipe. These balls had a nice taste but they weren't very sweet. I sprinkled some powdered sugar on top of them once they cooled. Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shuku Shuku (Nigerian Coconut Balls)

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.3
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    54%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 60.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites