Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / shrimp w/feta and orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    shrimp w/feta and orzo

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2009

      We really enjoyed this super simple dish. I, too, added some purple onion to it, and bumped the orzo amount up to a full cup. The flavors were great for such few ingredients. A little bit more tomato than we would have liked but that's all.*** I am coming back to update my review, and giving it the last star for the full 5. Made it again tonight and used a bit more parsley than it called for, more zest, and about a 1 large clove of garlic minced up real fine. I also served it with garlic bread and together they were FABULOUS! I would take a bite of bread and a bite of the meal together and it reminded me a lot of a hot and crusty shrimp sandwich I really like but that is a lot of work to prepare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      super simple, delicious and low fat? perfect! I used low fat feta and added a bit of garlic and onion in the tomatoes as they simmered. otherwise, followed recipe exactly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was so fast and easy! Prepped everything ahead so it took about 6 minutes to throw together. I did add more zest, and about a 1 large clove of garlic but otherwise followed to a T. As for the previous review not liking citrus with shrimp- leave the citrus out. I loved it as is! Thanks for sharing a healthy, fast and low fat/calorie meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I didn't like this. I just didn't like the combination of citrus, feta and shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This dish is very delicious. My DH and I enjoyed very much. I increased orzo to 1 cup and used a can of petite diced tomatoes. After tasting before serving, I added a small squeeze of lemon juice to add to the flavor. This was a great finishing touch as I love lemon. Also added just about a teaspoon of olive oil just before serving as it seemed a little dry. Very good and will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      A very easy to prepare and tasty dish! I used tomatoes with basil and oregano and added extra cheese. Awesome! Thank you for posting this chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Extremely quick and easy to make, this recipe really pleased the palates in this house. Loved all the different flavors along with the shrimp. Great recipe Chia! Dawn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      This is a lot like a dish that a local Greek restaurant makes. Their version has more tomatoes and less lemon. I will probably add more tomatoes (and maybe a little more cheese) since that is what we are used to, but it is wonderful as is. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This was a really quick and easy dinner to make after work. I added a little bit of chicken broth, basil, and Italian seasoning. I served it with a salad and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Very good and easy dish for middle-of-the-week meal. Next time I'll try it without cheese and add more veggies instead. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Everybody loved this dish. I played around a bit, adding fire roasted bell peppers and sliced portabellos. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      This was a very quick and easy dish. We had it as a main dish with a salad on the side because we wanted something light and easy. We added a bit of onions. It was very tasty and I really enjoyed the lemon "twang". I will be making this again, trying it as a side dish with possibly some beef. Thanks for the recipe Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      just gorgeous. you don't get much better with so simple. i followed the recipe faithfully, except to throw in some pink onion as it was there already chopped. we devoured it in a thrice, and i will so be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      Delicious! I started with raw shrimp and sauteed them in olive oil and garlic for additional flavor, and to the diced tomatoes I added 1/2 tsp dried basil and two chopped green onions. Can't wait to have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This was a lovely light Summer meal. I used 1 cup of orzo and used prawns instead of shrimps. Served with a crusty bread roll. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      Very nice! This is fresh tasting, because of the lemon zest- especially pleasing for summer. Different from the usual "shrimp and pasta", quick too. My husband doesn't usually like lemony-tasting dishes, but he said this one was not overpowering to him, he really liked it. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      Chia, this is a delicious Shrimp recipe, love the taste of the lemon zest,with the Shrimp and Orzo the feta really topped it off nicely, DH loved it. Recipe is a Keeper. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for shrimp w/feta and orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.7
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    17%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 237.5 mg
    79%
    Sodium 471.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes