18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I can handle spice but this very spicy so you may want to cut the pepper flakes by half if you are a lightweight. Delicious and so flavorful! Only change was to use 1 Tbsp. fresh ginger minced instead of the powder and added chopped cilantro at the end. Definitely an keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimlovestoeat June 16, 2015

Very, very delicious - even better the next day. Keeper recipe - served with rice and peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend April 02, 2014

Incredible in every way. So VERY, very good! Worthy of more than 5 stars. DH and I loved the flavors. I halved the recipe, did not change a thing. Perfectly spicy, served with naan and rice,but we didn't touch the rice. Another winner RBS, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 25, 2014

Outstanding! After reading the reviews I added 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to add some heat. Excellent dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scabonor December 23, 2011

Only 4 stars because this is not Shrimp Vindaloo. It's Shrimp curry. I just tried the recipe and substituted chili powder for flakes and used fresh tomatoes and also added cilantro. It came out good. I've never made an Indian recipe that called for cider vinegar before. Not sure if it made any difference in the overall flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rockbirdpb July 06, 2011

This was really delicious, and my husband, a professional chef, raved about it. The spice blend is great, and the result was a super fast and yummy dinner. Served with basmati rice. My only qualm is that it does not contain potatoes (vindaloo means "with potatoes"). I may throw some in next time, and increase the heat as well. Definitely one to do again, though! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalabhanjika June 19, 2010

I don't know how I missed writing my review since I've made this more than once. Right there, that's saying a lot. I only deviated from the recipe in 2 ways: I omitted the cloves b/c I didn't have any, and I used precooked shrimp. It's so easy that way--only takes a few minutes. I've served it over brown rice as well as with whole grain naan. Either way, it's so yummy, my DH and I could have easily eaten the whole recipe by ourselves. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 March 13, 2009

This was almost overwhelmingly spicy - almost. As it was, it was absolutely delicious! A real "party in your mouth!" Omitted the cloves due to allergy, but otherwise made as written, including the salt. Definitely will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower February 16, 2009

This is absolutely delicious! The only thing I did differently is not using so much salt. In fact, I used very little and it came out great. Also, I used a 15 oz can diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zobeed June 04, 2008
Shrimp Vindaloo