Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Tacos

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2009

      Awesome! I would suggset making more avocado sauce, this doesn't make very much. Otherwise a wonderful recipe, I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      AWESOME! Thank you so much for the recipe. We LOVE these baja shrimp taco's. You could fry the shrimp in this batter just for fried shrimp and the avocado dip is good with a little red pepper by itself. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Great batter!! We've only delved into 'beer batter' (which is what I would call this, essentially) in our house a few times, and maybe twice successfully. The recipe I used then calls for pancake mix and since I've quit buying that, I'm glad to stumble upon a replacement recipe without a bunch of trial and error. I agree with a previous post that said they thought this could be a great basic batter without having to be exclusive to tacos. I didn't have any rice flour in the pantry, but the final result was fine. DH wished they would've been a touch crunchier... wonder if the rice flour would've contributed to crunch factor? We're die-hard flour/egg/panko fry-ers.... so it takes alot to convince us of any other way!! =)
      I had enough batter for over two dozen large spot prawns, about a pound of halibut I decided to pull out at the last minute as well as a few sections of king crab meat (probably equivalent of 3 or four legs). I didn't make the avocado sauce, as the only salvageable avocado I had went into the slaw mixture I created.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      This recipe is AMAZING!!! I have been searching for a decent baja shrimp taco recipe ever since I came back from there and I have finally found it with this one! When I ate them it was as if I was right back in La Paz on the malecon! Thank you for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      We made these last night and then had plenty of leftover batter to deep fry 3 lbs of cod tonight. My rating pretty much centers around the batter which is excellent. It was our first time to have shrimp tacos but we have made and enjoyed fish tacos for years. I always used Gorton's whole breaded tilapia that you oven bake for convenience and is pretty tasty when you feel like being lazy on fish prep. However, I've also experimented with my own fish batter for different types of white flaky fish and tried other recipes not my own with good success, but I have to say Cookiedog's is the absolute best!

      Ok, so we still prefer fish tacos over shrimp, but the shrimp tacos were still very good. The sauce was also pretty good, however...I like my made up version better, which was inspired by the fish tacos I used to enjoy when I lived in Arizona. Basically, it's equal portions of mayo and sour cream with lime juice and salsa mixed in. I buy a bag of the dry shredded cole slaw and mix it up with chopped onion and a bunch of chopped cilantro. I also like to fry my corn tortillas for more texture but still foldable. A nice dollop of good hot sauce such as Cholula(my fave) or El Yucateca Chile Habanero(my husband's fave) finishes it off beautifully. Now back to the batter: my husband told me to throw away all other recipes because this one's a keeper. Thanks Cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Excellent shrimp tacos. I Loved the batter as it was crisp and light. I did one tilapia fillet just to see how that did but I definitely loved the shrimp better. I did one lb. of shrimp plus the tilapia and still had batter left. Could have done another half lb. shrimp if they were thawed. I used both vinegar and lime juice in the sauce. Will have these all the time. Quick and easy but best of all the flavors are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      So delicious!!! We all loved these!! I added some cayenne pepper to both of the sauces for a little more kick. The batter for the shrimp is just wonderful!!. So glad you shared this with all of us cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I have recently found a love for shrimp tacos and have wanted them often after trying them at a local fish rest. This recipe is so-ooo good that I will be making them very often now. I was lazy as I usually am and just used store bought frozen breaded shrimp. For anyone who does this an 8 ounce package makes about 6 tacos. I made the mayo sauce using light mayo since that's what we use here and I added in a little bit of chalula sauce to kick it up a bit, yum! Also I made the avocado sauce and added in some garlic, cayenne,oregano, salt and pepper since i wasnt seasoning my own shrimp that way. The sauces turned out so good this way, we will be making them again for sure! Served it on steamed corn tortillas with cabbage. I will try making this using the batter recipe also one of these days but having a baby at home makes these extra tasks more difficult, until then making it this way will do. thank you for such a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      These shrimp tacos are simply thee best. I made these for my husband last night and he loved them. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you so much. Very yummy and very easy..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      OH MAN! Thank you! I have been trying to duplicate a recipe from a local restaurant for some time now and never could quite do it. This is the closest I have come and this was great! To someone thinking of making this, don't let the long list of ingredients or the number of steps stop you. It all goes together quickly and painlessly. Well worth it in my opinion. Thanks again, we will make this delicious recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (3122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.8
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    20%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 49.0 mg
    16%
    Sodium 388.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes